what is the thought on this...

some good ole elevator music would fit right in with their image.

sounds can be trademarked.

but you nuh think the elevator music people coulda sue them too? LOL.

Is not my favorite place, been there before, but I don't think there is a case.

A specifc sound, but a genre?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqAJ4PxukiA

There is always a first. Where is Star Boy KD when yuh need him!

sounds can be trademarked.
                But not a musical composition...that would be a copyright...and not of an entire genre but of your specific expression if it was original...

Don't know about you but when I listened to that you could not tell me i wasn't sitting on a beach on Cayman Brac!

Hey! We need Portia to just go there and tell McKeeva Bush that they were RUDE to have done it and not to do it again! And bring along the former PM of Antigua & Barbuda as back up too!

Who is we?

Yuh ah close gate after horse bolt!

Dis ah get ludicrous now...LoL

Now yuh talking!

BTW, reggae comes from what? Is there any US music influence? Mine dem sue wi!

We would be Jamaica... Govt

If a filing is made for the mark it would probably be as a geographical indicator... meaning that the origin of the sound and the associated brand identity of the Jamaican (tourism) service it helps to identify... for which IP protection is sought...has historically been developed and used by Jamaica in the marketplace....where Jamaica has spent maybe hundreds of millions of US$ to create the brand identity.

A smart lawyer could make a reasonable case...but would probably lose in my inexpert opinion

Too many long existing precedents to the contrary exist that the defendant could rely on
                              Last edited by Don1; March 23, 2012, 08:09 PM.

It is not as ludicrous as some would make it seem. But dem not able to think big.

I am sure the MGM people were surprised when, acting on a whim, they succeeded in getting the lion's roar trademarked. How weird is that!

And I am with you, Don1, that it will not be an easy sell, but I don't believe it is impossible. Would it be worth the fight? Probably not. Better to send a raging Portia over to Cayman and threaten them with annexation. But the fact is the combination of Jamaica's indigenous reggae music along with sea, sun and sand should be trademarkable.

Reggae is a music genre first developed in Jamaica in the late 1960s. While sometimes used in a broader sense to refer to most types of Jamaican music, the term reggae more properly denotes a particular music style that originated following on the development of ska and rocksteady.
                                - Wikipedia

This was not an ad where a mobile phone was being sold with a reggae jingle. Mobile phones are not intrinsically Jamaican...well, I could come up with a better one later! But you get my point!

Time to start thinking big!