couple nights ago while watching tv, i saw an ad with reggae being played... i thought it was a jamaica tourism ad, only to find out at the end that it was a cayman island tourism ad... frankly, i do take offense to that as i believe it is infringing on brand jamaica... reggae is associated with jamaica and for any other island in competition with jamaica tourism should not be using reggae to compete against us... thoughts and opinions please...
what is the thought on this...
nothing can be done about that. We don't have the rights to only use or sell reggae.
I think Cayman tourist board is going on the success of the Jamaican campaign which we have developed. I saw the ad too. Interestingly we don't seem to have any Jamaica ads running now or maybe it is just in my area.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Maybe not that specifically but as a people we nuh really grasp the value of intellectual property yet.
We always leave ourselves open to abuse and then bawl when Babylon tek it and run wid it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
yes pawdie... dat same cayman... now assasin seh nothing can be done but i think otherwise... jtb needs to engage their lawyers... the brand needs protection like any other asset...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
I thought it might have been a Jamaican ad until I saw the info bout Cayman. Reggae originated in Ja, but we nuh have the franchise on it, and we have seen beer & car commercials with a reggae theme as well.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Originally posted by Hortical View PostI thought it might have been a Jamaican ad until I saw the info bout Cayman. Reggae originated in Ja, but we nuh have the franchise on it, and we have seen beer & car commercials with a reggae theme as well.'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
The brand needs protection but Reggae is not a Jamaican trademark, and what would America do if we use R&B? The lyrics in the song is just generic and unless they use a beat that is already trademarked nothing can be done.
The rest of the ad is just displaying things Cayman. While the format may seems somewhat similar to ours I can't see any lawyer can do anything. If you notice how many companies use Reggae and sky in their ads and associate it with clean air and healthy lifestyle etc. I think there is even another caribbean ad with a Rastaman in it.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
agree with that 100%, just see how we sue someone to use the genre.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
But we all use to use some American genre in not so long past.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I bet you this. It won't be long before the Bahamas and Hawaii start using it too.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.