Same old PNP/JLP tribal warfare

=Assasin;347357]the fact is there are some basic function government should take care of and the key is to get them to do the basic. You can assist in some area but as I said you don't expect every district to run their own water line, monitor it and maintain it. That is a function of government.
    You miss my point...nothing new in that
    The key here is to pressure them and choose good reps to get things done. It is a sad site to see every house having a water tank. That is my mere interest why I did policy studies. It is not about complaining, it is about trying to change and pressure to make government function.
    Oh I see...so this is a forum for pressuring "them" but not complaining?? I didn't get that memo..so thanks

HL simply made an observation and it tells a sad tale about our government, so what are we now suppose to do, stop talking about it and allow the government to continue doing what they are doing? Think again, who else can change this situation with water except government on a wide scale. How many districts can HL sponsor?
    I understand the observation...what I don't understand is the sense in spending countless hours in useless complaints on an obscure web forum.... you appear to believe that this idle chatter will somehow disable the government from "doing what they are doing" as you put it....it will not.. since what happens here amounts to nothing but hot air.... unless some action is sparked

Just as HL constantly speaks to the principle & actuality of government inadequacy.. inadequacy which is obvious to all... I speak to the principle of...ok Govament is fockery...so what will you do?

Ans, for most people: Bellyache interminably on the internet

Not if you in Trinidad and manufacturing them (the tanks)... also a beautiful sight for the water pump people... I wonder if they have any influence on govt? hmmm...

And once people start collecting their own water govt abdicates their responsibility for ensuring a clean regular supply... of course you can collect govt water for later use which is what I do here in TT, quite ludicrous actually but it is what you have to do to make sure you have water...for a rainy day! LOL... and if you are collecting water from your own well, the water authority here will bill you as they "own" the supplies in the aquifers. I'm not sure about rain water...

The other problem with water (in TT) is that residences that have pipe-borne water are not metered and households are charged a flat rate; and needless to say payment of water rates is not a high priority by citizens as cutting your water supply is not that easy... anyway the situation IMO is a recipe for waste and misuse by the public... mi tyad fi see people leave pipe a run and NOT using the water... like the sound of it is doing something for them, heaven knows what...

On the other hand, if you are connected to the main and you receive intermittent supplies, you are still charged the flat rate... totally unacceptable IMO and this country (used to) have so much money! could have improved the water supplies to many areas, but guess what? why kill yourself when the tribalists, they exist here too, going to vote for you anyway... I had a helper who used to bring her laundry to do at my house... she had pipes in her house but no water and never knew when she would get... they would have to get from a truck or go to a stand-pipe and her area never swayed from voting the same party in (or as their MP) time and time again...

Let me ask who complained more than you in the last 4 years? Wha happen you get a wake up call? I don't understand how all of a sudden salvation hit you on the road to Damascus.

You have an idea that because people come here and talk they do nothing, something that is very far from the truth. Providing water is the basic function of government and tehy need to do it.

thank fi that info on Trinidad. Hope to visit one day.

I was so fustrated with water at my grand mother right on the border of Portland and St.Mary and we have so many rivers nearby. The pump house is about a mile away. We got no water and had to wake up in the middle of the night when water came to catch water. Good thing we had fallings and blue hole not far away so having a bath wasn't a problem.

I once said to her, "why you pay the bill" She said son I pay it because hopefully one day when unnu visit we will have water" That made me less angry but all she got billed for was air in the pipe.

...just stating the facts Don1 as I see it NOT complaining... well, just a little to be honest

Complacency is a hell of a thing and in my area we have a regular supply plus we have the tanks and a pump... for those, dare I say it again, rainy days... so I am fairly complacent but even here in the land of roti and doubles, plenty people suffer with no water ...

=Assasin;347363]Let me ask who complained more than you in the last 4 years? Wha happen you get a wake up call? I don't understand how all of a sudden salvation hit you on the road to Damascus.
              I don't spend much time complaining. We differ on what constitutes a complaint. I analyze and propose some solutions. I contend that the JLPNP are failures and will continue to fail. I state that performing the same failed actions repeatedly and expecting different results is ludicrous. I advocate for out of the box thinking and for a reform agenda..

If that is akin to bitching incessantly about politicians not providing water or electricity or pothole free roads... I'm guilty as charged
              You have an idea that because people come here and talk they do nothing, something that is very far from the truth. Providing water is the basic function of government and tehy need to do it.
              Lots of things are basic Govt functions...that doesn't stop people from assisting in those Govt functions... put that tired argument to bed.

As far as complaining goes...it seems to me that HL for example does little else on this forum but that, so I got tired of it and complained. Then again that is what I've come to expect of HL so perhaps I shouldn't bother complain

... you seem to be his advocate... doan tap atall
              Last edited by Don1; March 20, 2012, 12:20 AM.

...just stating the facts Don1 as I see it NOT complaining... well, just a little to be honest

Complacency is a hell of a thing and in my area we have a regular supply plus we have the tanks and a pump... for those, dare I say it again, rainy days... so I am fairly complacent but even here in the land of roti and doubles, plenty people suffer with no water ...
                LOL... I have no problems with complaints...except when they're constant & overwhelming to the point of banality

Make way for a Digital worl'...Don2 arready have a digital girl

The fact is it a shame that most of rural Jamaica had better water supply in the 70s than today.

The fact is the more corrupt the government the less people will tend to help. Did you know that if you even try to get a water system you have to get authority from the same NWC?

I am not HL advocate, but the fact is people will talk and not everybody going to come up with a theory and everybody feel comfortable sharing what they have done.

Sometimes complaining get you somewhere. We need to pressure them and force them to do the right thing. To you your complaining may seems justify but ask others how it sound to them. HL is no different.
                    Last edited by Assasin; March 20, 2012, 08:55 AM.

There should never be a need for trucking water in Hanover. Who is PKJ? a person or a business?

This is 2012, lets raise the level so we all can learn from you.

take a deep breathe and relax.

Ok, stay stuck in Time...

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                              Ok, stay stuck in Time...
                              Assasin stuck inna Time?? Wha kina Mantu business dat unnu ah promote?? Unnu brite an outa orda eeh?

Willi...yuh nuh si dem ah tun up di ting!!! It wussa dan wi did tink to ********!!

Complaining here incessantly gets one nowhere except maybe for stress relief and to pass the time....that's part of my point... so please abandon that line of argument about some value in RBZSC bellyaching being of value.. unless you feel this forum is an effective platform to get the attention of politicians.

As to my posts... they seem to attract a loyal following of people in Opposition ... literally & figuratively...you included... so I don't need to ask anyone how "it sounds to them"