88% of married black men are married to black women

• 88% of married black men are married to black women

Eighty-eight percent of all married black men are married to black women, a figure that changes less than five percentage points with more education and income. In short, the American Community Survey shows that lower marriage rates among black people has nothing to do with race, and everything to do with educational and income disparities between races. Black people also have higher population concentrations in urban centers, which have a lifestyle and cost of living that appear less conducive to marriage and family.
    Deceptive narratives that prevail in discussions of black love and marriage have been extremely divisive. Myths have drawn misleading contrasts between educated black women and lesser-educated black women, pitted single black women against single white women, and obstructed healthy dialogue and compassion between black men and black women. If black people deal with the facts, instead of the news media's "battle of the black sexes," they might be able to find healthy love in one another.

http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate...ncome-not-race

You a fool...my eyes know more dan dem claffy...

Yow??

what is the percentage of marriages with people making over a million dollars? any info and that?

Let me see the changes. It seems like you a use some republican figures pon me. LOL.

It was a joke...

What percentage of Black, married, NBA players are married to Black women? What is the average salary in the NBA?

what about the other variable? black women marrying white men (is that also about social setting) in other words how many black women marry a white man who is making less money than them?

a figure that changes less than five percentage points with more education and income

Look at the marital status of the 2001 NBA All-Star rosters:

Looking at the marital status of the 2001 NBA All-Star rosters:

The truth of the matter is that 90 percent of African-American married NBA players (such as Pat Ewing, Tim Hardaway, and Mitch Richmond) are married to African-American women.

http://current.com/groups/collective...there-race.htm

Me try wid him, but some people are hopeless. LOL.

90% of NBA players marry black women so in the Bricktop-logic that proves that high income black men don't marry outside thier race any more than black men in any other any other income group.

Dem head kinda tough enuh...dem never hear bout sample size...we just provided them a sample size consisting entirely of black millionaires & what race they are married to...cataracts are a hell of a thing

Gamma...yuh cyaan tel me nuttin...my eyes nuh tek no talk

Instead of headlines, let us look at the actual report data:

http://www.empowernewsmag.com/listings.php?article=2051

Among all married black men, 88 percent have a black wife.

Among married black men with a personal income of more than $100,000, 83 percent have a black wife

Among black male professional athletes, 72.8% are married to black women, 22.2% are married to white women

Can we make a reasonable assumption that for black men earning > $250K we expect it to be somewhere between 83 and 72 percent?

Well then, seems as if the stats show what my eyes can see.....

Waiting for the concession speech......

Yuh eyes need a teleprompter or sittin?