Spotlight on disc jocks

If I have 10 minutes to play, and play my production for six minutes out of the 10 minutes, nothing is wrong with that because that time is short, but if I had more time I would get to play more material from other producers

lazie you missing the point. Conflict of interest. We need to cut out the playola and conflict of interest. If you want to produce quit and go produce... Bottom line the industry needs some standards. Peer foolishness coming out. I have spent the last few months looking for some old classic i lost along the way because they are no good new songs coming out. I dont even take them for free...

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        lazie you missing the point. Conflict of interest. We need to cut out the playola and conflict of interest. If you want to produce quit and go produce... Bottom line the industry needs some standards. Peer foolishness coming out. I have spent the last few months looking for some old classic i lost along the way because they are no good new songs coming out. I dont even take them for free...

A radio jock in on the air for what? ..... 4 hours ... why prevent one from earning more with the rest of their time? BT continues to make reference to Bambino ... one that cannot be taken too seriously as he is like Weird Al Yankowvic.

Liquid's song on the One Day Riddim is one of the better ones. The Contra Riddim was a good riddim, you're telling me because these projects are done by radio personalites, these people shouldn't play their project?

We differ on this. I think there are other issues that needs addressing.

Maybe you missed where I said Liquid & the rest of them all do the same thing...

if a song is produced by a radio personality it should be monitored for air play and how often . In the US The FCC monitor those things. In canada the CRTC how often and where the song originated has to be logged. If you dont comply you could loose your license. He or she can produce them just cant just play their songs willy nilly. If they want to do that go start a sound system or play in clubs and do what they want. On the radio you need guidelines

15 minutes of his song, 15 minutes of his brethren song and then 1 hour of payola.

A so the thing set.

Really Lazie?. You can't see how a DJ playing his own song over and over amounts to the worst form of payola.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                  Really Lazie?. You can't see how a DJ playing his own song over and over amounts to the worst form of payola.

Over and over? How often do they play their tunes? The only one is Bambino .. while talking to his listeners he has a habit to singing/djing on the version that is playing in an attempt to be funny. He will then go and record it then come back and play it.

How often do the others play their tracks?

Lazie a lot of these radio DJs are record producers or related to producers.

Kurt Riley comes to mind, Richie B also do a little thing, Troy Pinnock and others have silent partnership. They don't have to sing pon a riddim.

It is the height of slackness to have them do just want they want