Construction in Jamaica.

• Construction in Jamaica.

Seems to me--so long as you have a shovel some gravel, sand and cement...anyone can build a house (or whatever they want). You can almost build anywhere including capture land.

There are no apparent building and inspection codes....

Even those without civil engineering training can see that most building construction in towns look shoddy....

I sometimes wonder if there is a fire or medical emergency...what kind of direction can one give these essential services--so that they can be easily found in these "housing development" layouts.

[It is not unusual to find a mechanic establishment within a residential area].

The GPS folks must be pulling their hair out when it come to mapping Jamaica,.

Sometimes one visit can't give you the whole picture...you may have to dig deeper...

If only Jamaica was like the USA.... aaahhh bwoy

HL=Jamaica's loss and USA's gain.

Not only me ~snicker~...you Rudi....and....

Please include ALL JLIF

Does not have to be like USA Don.

Just a place where the impression of growth and development is not confined to all inclusive...

One visit? I visit (fairly frequently)...and get into the nitty gritty; specially into the middle of the island. Cock-pit country, Duncans, Clarkes town--places where literally time has forgotten.

ok boss

Sorry..one recent visit...actually, compared to some other places I've been, Jamaica has fairly goos structural construction for houses...block, concrete and steel...as for the squatting...just another part of the total lawlessness wehave come to accept in JAmaica..

Actually there are building codes in Ja, and contractors haffi acquire a permit based on dem plans from the parish council. But as yuh know, often times anything gwaan in Ja without the appropriate parish council oversight.

It remains to be seen if there are zoning codes, tis might be informative fi mi check on this in a mi next trip. Whats really needed is a separation of incompatible land uses, as mentioned in your post (car shop in a residential neighborhood).

Oh yes! ther are some extremely well constructed building in jamaica.

My main concern are codes and ordinances:

Seems like anything goes 'specially in some towns. It's an indication that codes and ordinance enforcement are not local priorities. The result is an eye-sore as far as construction is concerned.

Yes Sir...I think you get the pickture...