• Jamaican drug kingpin faces sentencing in US case

Jamaican drug kingpin Christopher "Dudus" Coke faces sentencing in US case

CBS/AP) NEW YORK - Jamaican drug kingpin Christopher "Dudus" Coke is scheduled to be sentenced this week in federal court in Manhattan after pleading guilty last year to racketeering and assault charges.
    Pictures: Christopher "Dudus" Coke

Coke, who U.S. authorities say is so ruthless that he once ordered a rival killed with a chainsaw, faces up to 23 years in prison.

Coke was captured in 2010 in Jamaica during a bloody siege of his ghetto stronghold that left more than 70 dead. At the time, he waived extradition to the United States and vowed to fight drug trafficking, gun smuggling, racketeering and other charges.
    The 43-year-old Coke has sought mercy in a letter to the judge, but prosecutors have argued that leniency isn't an option. They want Coke to serve the maximum term and be deported.
    Coke was a divisive figure in Jamaica, where he followed in the footsteps of his father, Lester Lloyd Coke, better known as Jim Brown, a leader of the notorious Shower Posse during the 1980s cocaine wars. Authorities say he took over the organization when his father, also sought in the United States, died in a mysterious fire in a Jamaican prison cell in 1992.
    Once in power, Coke became a folk hero to some followers in the West Kingston slum of Tivoli Gardens. He listed his good deeds in his letter to the judge - throwing Easter parties for seniors, passing out school supplies and Christmas gifts to children and starting a school to teach computer skills to the disadvantaged.
    The court has received other letters of support from Jamaica. One man described how "Dudus" started youth soccer leagues, paid medical bills for sick neighbors and even helped children with their homework. The letter says, "Peace is the answer," was his constant message.
    This apparent altruism won Coke loyalty and political clout in Tivoli Gardens, which federal prosecutors call in court papers "a garrison community" patrolled by Coke's young henchmen armed with illegal weapons bought on the black market in the United States and smuggled into Jamaica. The enforcers' job included guarding stash houses, punishing anyone who challenged Coke's monopoly on the drug trade and using intimidation to influence elections, the papers said.
    Anyone who crossed Coke was detained and subjected to harsh punishments. One person accused of thievery "was brought to the 'jail,' tied down and killed by Coke with a chainsaw," the court papers say.
    In the U.S., Coke controlled a network of large-scale drug dealers who would send him "tribute" payments of cash, electronics, or guns, court papers say.
    Prosecutors also allege Coke relied on women to smuggle cocaine - concealed in condoms and inserted into their vaginas - into the United States on commercial flights to New York City or Miami. One woman who refused to do it was gang-raped and murdered, the court papers say.
    Several women abused by Coke's gang in Jamaica have written to the sentencing judge asking him to give the defendant a harsh punishment. They've also insisted on anonymity.
    "I might be targeted for death by the Shower Posse if this letter is brought to the public record," one woman wrote. "But this letter is my contribution to Jamaica and the Jamaicans for their future."

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504083_1...ag=mncol;lst;1

I hope he gets the max.

from what I understand the judge can give him more the the "max"

It is a pitty life behind bars is not an option for the scum bag.

I hope he gets the MAX.
          Noice! ....and you're glad his political supporters in Parliament got AXED??

For political reasons you still choose to distort the facts. Your people have regain power ... unuh can start being honest now.

LOL... I am being honest.

You're just being both blinkered and ridiculous

LOL... I am being honest.

You're just being both blinkered and ridiculous

Didn't we both listen to the same Enquiry? I understand is not everyone can stand up to the masses ... some ppl just simply fall in line ..... Yet you called me "blinkered and ridiculous" .... thats a laff!

Yes we both saw the same "I can't recall" Inquiry overseen & misdirected by 2 JLP partisans.

However only one of us has enough sense to draw the correct conclusions of JLP political corruption and malfeasance.

That person is NOT you

However a vast majority of Jamaicans saw through the fluff and came to the correct verdict on that sordid affair

In the immortal words of an esteemed forumite...Kiddoes to the Jamaican People

Didn't we both listen to the same Enquiry? I understand is not everyone can stand up to the masses ... some ppl just simply fall in line ..... Yet you called me "blinkered and ridiculous" .... thats a laff!
                    Lazie, yesterday i posted that there are no common ground between a specific set of forumites. I think 'someone' used the political term bi-partisanship.

I further stated that this forum was a case study in why Jamaican leadership will never come together for the development of the country.

Lazie, yesterday i posted that there are no common ground between a specific set of forumites. I think 'someone' used the political term bi-partisanship.

I further stated that this forum was a case study in why Jamaican leadership will never come together for the development of the country.
                      Is this forum a Parliament or a Rum Bar??

One is a democratic institution requiring a majority vote to promulgate laws. The other is for bellyaching

Don't confuse the mission of those two fora... there is no common ground required...or even desirable in this one.... too boring

Yes we both saw the same "I can't recall" Inquiry overseen & misdirected by 2 JLP partisans.

However only one of us has enough sense to draw the correct conclusions of JLP political corruption and malfeasance.

That person is NOT you

However a vast majority of Jamaicans saw through the fluff and came to the correct verdict on that sordid affair

In the immortal words of an esteemed forumite...Kiddoes to the Jamaican People

You've once again proven the reason for the X in the Jamaican flag. Saw though the fluff, aren't you supposed to make a judgement based on the evidence presented? Oh well.

I saw it ... I can confirm there was common ground between Mosiah and myself ... however 2007 after his party lost power him change him tune. The man don't even talk about human rights anymore.

You've once again proven the reason for the X in the Jamaican flag. Saw though the fluff, aren't you supposed to make a judgement based on the evidence presented? Oh well.
                            woooiiee mi Belly!

...oh dam...you right Lazie!!

I recall he was high up in the Jamaican for Justice bizniz...

You right yout!