Police Federation raps Andrew Holness

• Police Federation raps Andrew Holness

The Police Federation has hit back at Opposition Leader Andrew Holness after pronouncements in the media that the Commissioner of Police Owen Ellington should seek his advice in fighting crime.

In a press release today, the federation said that Holness’ statements were 'irresponsible and unfortunate'.

According to the Federation, whilst the statement might have been well intentioned on the opposition leader’s part, it clearly shows that there is scant regards for the crime fighting efforts of the police.

General Secretary of the Police Federation, Inspector David White, said “It is unfortunate that crime instructions can only be given on a political platform when crime has always been an unwanted feature of the Jamaican society.”

He further added that fighting crime is the prerogative of every Jamaican citizen.

In addition, Inspector White said statements by the Public Defender, Earl Witter has undermined the crime fighting efforts of the police.

The Federation said Witter suggested that police officers should either be killed or injured in shoot out with criminals.

The Federation said it is an indication that persons in influential positions are uncaring about police officers and the herculean crime fighting task which should be the business of every Jamaican.

However, it is imploring members not to be daunted by the harsh criticisms but take decisive action to protect themselves and the citizens of Jamaica.

editorial@gleanerjm.com

what was that about from holness? doesn't seem well thought out to me .....

You hear what they are saying about the public defender? When did Mr. Witter indicate that police officers should be shot or killed by criminals during shootouts? What he said that with the amount of "shootouts" it is incredulous that more police casualties have not been reported...

sounds like witter was under him waters, again!

You hear what they are saying about the public defender? When did Mr. Witter indicate that police officers should be shot or killed by criminals during shootouts? What he said that with the amount of "shootouts" it is incredulous that more police casualties have not been reported...
          he didnt say police should be shot... the question is, why is it incredulous that there aren't any police casualities... i think rather than him askiking that question, he should be thankful there weren't any... implicit in his argument is doubt about the police's version of events... in other words, he doesn't believe the police were fired upon... no shootout...

Everybody know police too ******** lie! Yuh have big shootout for hours and not one police casualty or vehicle being shot up. Hard to believe!
            Last edited by Mosiah; March 8, 2012, 06:49 PM.

Andrew halo rusting by the minute. Every time he opens his mouth...

He is sounding just like his predecessors who also thought that they were to called upon when it comes to fighting crime in west Kingston.

Still, the police federation is a desperate lot.

seriously, i dont see that as an impossibility... that cannot be a determinant of the facts...

who said it was?!?

tell mi nuh... perhaps, you could expound likkle bit more...

simply saying i don't believe it was a shootout. nobody can mek me resign!

do you believe the gunmen fired a single shot at the police... by de way, what wid de resign awgiment... mi laas...

police federation waan everybody fi resign or apologise. dem cyaan beat mi!

yes, maybe one or two shot fire yes. but sustained gun battle for how long?!?! me thinks is one set a people wenna fire 95% a di shot dem.

ok... and, ok...

mi a wonda if police cudda know seh some gunman deh at a location, knock pon a gate, seh dem have warrants fi arrest some ppl and dem walk out wid dem hands up... is dat a pipe dream...

don't know what you are getting at.