• Jamaica will seek no reparation from Britain - Simpson Mille

Jamaica will seek no reparation from Britain - Simpson Miller

Published: Wednesday | March 7, 2012 Comments 0

Simpson Miller

THE JAMAICAN Government has given the clearest signal yet that it would not be pressing Britain to pay reparation for the ills of slavery.
    Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, in an interview conducted at The Gleaner's North Street, Kingston offices on Monday, said she would not join the calls for such a payment.

"Whether Britain would be able to pay compensation to the population ... of African descent, I don't know.

"I have heard the calls, I am not making any call on the British government about whether they pay or give us compensation," the prime minister said.
    At the same time, Simpson Miller has said her Government was not expecting Prince Harry to apologise for the ills of slavery. She also said her Government would not be calling for Britain to pay reparation for slavery.

The prince arrived in Jamaica on Monday for a four-day visit. He is representing his grandmother - The Queen - who is celebrating 60 years on the British throne.

Britain built its empire on the back of slave labour, some of which took place on Jamaican plantations between the 17th and 19th centuries. Asked if Britain should apologise for slavery, Simpson Miller said her Government would demand no such action.

'Wicked, brutal'
    Speaking of the capture and sale of people in Africa, the Middle Passage, as well as slave labour on plantations, Simpson Miller said, "it was wicked, it was brutal".

"No race should have been subjected to what our ancestors were subjected to," she said of slavery.

"We gained our freedom on the sweat, blood and tears of our ancestors and we are now free. If Britain wishes to apologise, fine with us, no problem at all," she added.

Out of the same interview, conducted jointly by the BBC and The Gleaner, reports were yesterday carried in the British media claiming Simpson Miller had hinted her Government would be seeking reparations for slavery.

Why the BBC suh lie

We all are confused, or maybe she was misquoted regarding the compensation request for slavery.

Anyone seriously think that any reparations claim would succeed and be paid out?
        That would open floodgates for reparations to be paid by the US and every other nation involved. And then the question of how much or in what form would reparations would be paid?

Aristide tried to get back some money and they took him out.

I support it nuh matter what the cost. The only thing is that in a time of the prince visit is not the right time to go about it, (not saying the PM did). But that shouldn't mean we stop talking about it and to me it nuh matter how much it cost or who suffer, did they consider that when they had the grand tobacco pay out a few years ago?

if you are guilty then you pay. No hating just justice.

Mike Henry used to push dis too...

Nah guh nuhweh!

Agree 100%!

you sure? Mi and you agree 100%. Archive this. LOL

I know. Oh! I have not yet taken my meds!

As you were!

During the young Babylonian's visit is the perfect time to raise such an issue...if one wants some publicity for it

Personally...I feel we need to concentrate on self-improvement rather than handouts.. justified as they may be

Plus keep on bunning out Babylon said speed

I guess you have nothing to do with diplomacy. Bunn out babylon

I say figget bout it as it naaah happen.

Success is the best revenge and if we believe in ourselves, we can get there on our own steam. More satisfying too.

yes sass... yuh pon point yassuh... no hating... only justice...

Yuh and Mike Henry agree???

Reparation is necessary

Friday, March 09, 2012

Dear Editor,
                              I note with grave concern Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller's comments, speaking on behalf of the government and people of Jamaica, in respect of a call for reparation for slavery.

Simpson Miller was quoted as saying, "I have heard the calls; I am not making any call on the British government about whether they pay or give us compensation".

It is unfortunate that the prime minister sought to publicly address this matter while a private member's motion, which I brought to Parliament, awaits members' votes.

I have deliberately kept my calls for reparation free of political posturing.
                              I believe it should be a conscience vote by Parliament and the body politic of the country.

It is unfortunate that this comment was made and I believe it requires clarification from the PM, as to whether this is a government position, especially as the debate continues in Parliament and the report of the committee set up by Parliament is yet to be brought to the House.
                              I am unclear as to whether this was always the position held by the prime minister.

I am therefore calling on the prime minister to clarify her comments on this matter of national importance, especially in this our 50th year of Independence.

Whereas I certainly wouldn't expect our only achievement to be Jamaica becoming a republic, by abandoning the monarchy, it must be recognised that the slave masters were compensated, but the slaves were not.
                              I regret that the prime minister sought to speak on behalf of the people of Jamaica, dismissing the country's right to seek reparation.

As such, I will personally continue to pursue and seek reparation as a citizen of Jamaica.

Michael Henry

michaelhenrymp@yahoo.com