I was in JA myself two weeks ago for a long weekend, in fact the carnival weekend to Ash Wednesday... I don't have the pocket to stay in RIU or wherever else like unuh bigshot but I and my 12 yr old son in three days did quite a few of the "tourist" things... Mystic Mtn., Chukka Cove, White River... we stayed with a very kind and loving white-haired lady in Ochie who made us over the three days:escoveitch fish, rice and peas (kidney beans and gungo), ackee and salt fish, curry chicken, fry plantain, roast and fry breadfruit, yellow yam, sweet potato, offered us hard do bread and Red Stripe beer (me not my son )oh, and stew pork which we never even got around to tasting...btw the lady is my mother. We had food fi stone dog and my son went to town on the ackee and saltfish... mi siddung pon har balcony an tek in the Ochie view a evening when mi son jump in the pool downstairs the condo... had a great time. HL you know seh dat menu mash up RIU own yuh kno! but SIX lobster HL ?? yu nuh easy...
I must say ALL the guides on the tours were courteous, knowledgeable, humorous and did an excellent job... the guys who do the zip line tours at Mystic are very professional as well as those at Chukka... now my son and I were the only "locals" in our groups but I believe they thought we were foreign, as in not from yaad ... didn't say a word as it was interesting just observing how they did their thing... I just wish so many of them didn't feel the need to "twang" to the extent they do... other than that I think they are doing a good job.
On another note, people are having it hard in JA... compared to how people have it in Trinidad... Trinis don know how good dem have it. JA people seem more resourceful in terms of making a day to day living... a gardener who works up at my Mom's condo told me he spends almost half his days wages in transport... but he is able to hustle some jobs like washing cars, painting, and doing private jobs for the residents which makes it worth his while, otherwise he wouldn't make the trip from where he lives.
I am going to Colombia this weekend, will give some feedback on that when I return.
I must say ALL the guides on the tours were courteous, knowledgeable, humorous and did an excellent job... the guys who do the zip line tours at Mystic are very professional as well as those at Chukka... now my son and I were the only "locals" in our groups but I believe they thought we were foreign, as in not from yaad ... didn't say a word as it was interesting just observing how they did their thing... I just wish so many of them didn't feel the need to "twang" to the extent they do... other than that I think they are doing a good job.
On another note, people are having it hard in JA... compared to how people have it in Trinidad... Trinis don know how good dem have it. JA people seem more resourceful in terms of making a day to day living... a gardener who works up at my Mom's condo told me he spends almost half his days wages in transport... but he is able to hustle some jobs like washing cars, painting, and doing private jobs for the residents which makes it worth his while, otherwise he wouldn't make the trip from where he lives.
I am going to Colombia this weekend, will give some feedback on that when I return.