Cooper on Kartel's guilt
First she brought him to the UWI as a visiting professor/guest lecturer. Students, their parents, alumni etc remained silent rather than calling for her immediate firing(please spare me the free speech in academia crap), now she seems to be the same goon's biggest advocate for his release. That is what happens when good people remain silent. I always thought we were the most moral and godly people on earth. I just wonder what would happen to the president of Harvard, Columbia, Brown, Princeton, Penn, Cornell or Dartmouth if a Prof of literature were to invite Chris Brown to give a lecture on their campuses. Aren't we more moral and Godfearing than Americans?. Isn't UWI more ivy than Ivy League?. So what is happening? .
Originally posted by Assasin View PostThe same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostFirst she brought him to the UWI as a visiting professor/guest lecturer. Students, their parents, alumni etc remained silent rather than calling for her immediate firing(please spare me the free speech in academia crap), now she seems to be the same goon's biggest advocate for his release. That is what happens when good people remain silent. I always thought we were the most moral and godly people on earth. I just wonder what would happen to the president of Harvard, Columbia, Brown, Princeton, Penn, Cornell or Dartmouth if a Prof of literature were to invite Chris Brown to give a lecture on their campuses. Aren't we more moral and Godfearing than Americans?. Isn't UWI more ivy than Ivy League?. So what is happening? .
"I always thought we were the most moral and godly people on earth." WTF!!!!! Wait ... were you being sarcastic? I don't see the big deal about him giving a lecture at UWI ... if you're interested go ... if not ... simply don't go.
Why yuh picking on Chris Brown now? What would happen if CB should give a presentation at one of these institutions? I'm certain there are schools, universities that have had excons, (gang banger) giving a talk about the negatives of gang banging.
"Aren't we more moral and Godfearing than Americans?" Look like yuh serious .... more moral .... LOL!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
"
The man and the role
On air, I did express doubts about Kartel's guilt, based purely on my assessment of the DJ's intelligence: Vybz Kartel couldn't be foolish enough to think that Adidja Palmer could get away with murder! That is certainly not an indulgent mother's stubborn affirmation of her son's complete innocence. It's a recognition of an essential distinction between the man and the role he plays as a DJ."
This is what I can't get over. We only lick out on "babylon" whoever it be, but when we get it wrong we are silent. Is it only dumb DJs committ crimes?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Kartel Says Police ‘Slaughtering’ Him
Jailed dancehall artiste Vybz Kartel is worried that he will not get a fair trial for the range of offences including murder with which he has been charged.
Kartel, whose real name is Adidja Palmer, said this is because of how the police have been treating the matters relating to him.
In a letter to his friend, university professor Dr. Carolyn Cooper, Kartel said he is being painted as an evil DJ by day, don by night and a murderer, who is society’s number one cause for crime and violence.
He also said the police have been using the media to slaughter him and to form a public opinion of him contradicts his real image.
In the letter published in Professor Cooper’s Sunday Gleaner column, Kartel said the cops have tried his case in the public and found him guilty.
He complained that every single piece of alleged evidence and every new development in his case is broadcast on TV, as though the matter is a soap opera.
According to Kartel, he has been in court numerous times and he does not see where the cases of people accused of heinous crimes have been treated in the public sphere.
I must have missed the mass firings after the Ice T lecture tour?
Ice-T, born Tracy Marrow, left the violent and crime-infested streets of South Central Los Angeles to become one of the biggest and most controversial influences in rap music. He formed his own production company in 1985 and was nomminated for a Grammy Award in 1990 for his hit single "New Jack Hustler".
In celebration of Black History Month in 1993, Ice-T toured several universities, including Harvard, Stanford and NYU, lecturing on the state of first amendment rigths and civil liberties in this country. Previously, Ice-T has testified before Congress and has spoken to high school students against drug abuse and gang violence. He also had starring roles in several films including New Jack City, Ricochet and Trespass.
"Ice-T's candor was refreshing, though often painful... to prevent him from being heard would be to lose access to a voice that is powerfull among America's young urban warriers."
Charles Ogletree
Associate Professor
Harvard Law School
"We were extremely pleased with the amount of cooperation and professionalism that Ice-T displayed. The event was sold out to an audience of pleased listeners... Thanks again for a great show!"
Becky Yeagle
Lectures Committee
New York University
"(The Ice-T Lecture) was the most successful program our commitee has ever been involved with. He generated a lot of excitement on campus, was wonderful to work with, and presented an excellent program."
Cori Phelan
News & Views Chairperson
University of FLorida
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
And just in case we forgot who Ice T is....
Cop Killer
I got my black shirt on.
I got my black gloves on.
I got my ski mask on.
This ********'s been too long.
I got my twelve gauge sawed off.
I got my headlights turned off.
I'm 'bout to bust some shots off.
I'm 'bout to dust some cops off.
Cop killer, better you than me.
Cop killer, f**k police brutality!
Cop killer, I know your family's grievin'
(f**k 'em)
Cop killer, but tonight we get even.
I got my brain on hype.
Tonight'll be your night.
I got this long-assed knife,
and your neck looks just right.
My adrenaline's pumpin'.
I got my stereo bumpin'.
I'm 'bout to kill me somethin'
A pig stopped me for nuthin'!
Cop killer, I know your mama's grievin'
(f**k her)
Die, die, die pig, die!
F**k the police!
F**k the police yeah!
I'm a Cop killer, f**k police brutality!
Cop killer, I know your family's grievin'
(f**k 'em)
F**k the police!
F**k the police, break it down.
F**k the police, yeah.
F**k the police, for Darryl Gates.
F**k the police, for Rodney King.
F**k the police, for my dead homies.
F**k the police, for your freedom.
F**k the police, don't be a **********.
F**k the police, have some muthaf**kin' courage.
F**k the police, sing along.
Cop killer!
Cop killer!
Cop killer!
Cop killer!
Cop killer, what you're gonna be when you grown up?
Cop killer, good choice.
Cop killer!
I'm a muthaf**kin' cop killer!
Cop killer, I know your mama's grievin'
(f**k her)
Cop killer, but tonight we get even
Read more: http://artists.letssingit.com/ice-t-...#ixzz1oGAWkfBC
LetsSingIt - Your favorite Music Community"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
To think he is not guilty is fine but to think he is too smart to do that is not very wise especially as Vibez have already been charged more than once for violent crime or gun charge, or was it Mr.Palmer then?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I know. I would love to know Carolyn's definition of "an intelligent person". I am not trying to disparage her in any way, because I have known her for many years, ever since she returned from Canada and assumed her position at the university as a respected lecturer, but maybe her time has come and gone. She probably has ran out of more approprate creative ideas. We as human beings all become obsolete at some point. Look at Fidel Castro. Started out good, then became a Stalinistlite.
The Ice-T distraction is exactly that. There is a difference between a person with a criminal past being invited to a university campus, by students, to give a talk/lecture on the negative effects of his past behaviour, and a person being invited by a professor/dept. head to give a lecture on the vitues of his current behaviour. As much as I like Carolyn, I think she should have been asked to resign, and the head of the universityb should have been to account. The Jamaican, and other Caribbean taxpayers who pay her salary should have made themselves heard. After all this Kartel clown can't even enter some of the contributing countries. It is a total insult to the people of the contributing countries into which he can't enter. Talk about lack of sensitivity.
Reggaedoc, the Ice T university lectures were mostly about freedom of speech (ie the right to sing Cop Killer).
No need for the fancy footwrok, just be consistent in your criticism."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass