Researcher Worried By Dollar Speculation

• Researcher Worried By Dollar Speculation

Researcher and economist Dr Michael Witter is raising concern about statements by two financial experts regarding the devaluation of the Jamaican dollar.

Last week the selling rate for US$1 passed the JA$87 mark.

Financial analyst Dennis Chung has said he is not surprised by the continued slide of the local currency while economist Dr Davidson Dawey, says he expects the value of the local currency to further decline, reaching as high as JA$89 to US$1 in the next few months.

But writing in today’s Financial Gleaner Witter, who is a senior research fellow at the University of the West Indies, Mona, said speculation may drive Jamaicans to stash away foreign currency as has happened in the past.

According Witter, he is not aware that the comments by Chung and Dawey are based on technical and scientific research.

He is urging speculators to do the necessary research before making comments that could hurt the economy.

LOL .... "Researcher Worried By Dollar Speculation" Really? I think people worried bout the wrong thing .... how much as the dollar devalued? I think thats what ppl should be worried about.

how much as the dollar devalued

why worry about something weh gone already

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
        how much as the dollar devalued

why worry about something weh gone already

.... and this is the sophisticated J'can voters ppl talking bout?

sorry for the misunderstanding

you said

"I think people worried bout the wrong thing.......how much has the dollar devalued?"

what you mean

sorry for the misunderstanding

you said

"I think people worried bout the wrong thing.......how much has the dollar devalued?"

what you mean

How much has the J$ devalued since both men were interviewed? Better yet, how much has the J$ devalued since your ppl took over the reigns? Know what? Since unuh try put a positive spin pon everything .... how many times has the J$ regained value since unuh ppl were returned to power?

jlp

$89-$70=$19

$19/4= $(4+0.75) per year

Pnp
              $69-$6=$63

$63/(18+0.5)=$(3+0.73) per year

note in may 2009 the usd was 90 to 1 ja$
              http://www.boj.org.jm/foreign_exchan...es_monthly.php

jlp

$89-$70=$19

$19/4= $(4+0.75) per year

Pnp
                $69-$6=$63

$63/(18+0.5)=$(3+0.73) per year

note in may 2009 the usd was 90 to 1 ja$
                http://www.boj.org.jm/foreign_exchan...es_monthly.php
                Again I ask ... "this is the sophisticated J'can voters ppl talking bout?" Or is it yuh need the questions 7 days in advanced?

u understand the likkle calculation mi just do

u boasting about the jlp "stable " exchange rte for the last 4 years

just showing the FACTS

btw..........mi nuh VOTE

just showing the FACTS

btw..........mi nuh VOTE

it is pointless since it has NOTHING to do with the article YOU posted. i guess that how you comrade dweet throw in alot of meaningless data ,, then pat unuhself on the back.

ok...........this is ur "cop" out

u who start talk bout/suggest that the jlp manage the exchange rate better

and mi just show u the FACTS/data

meaningless cuz see that u wrong

just showing the FACTS

btw..........mi nuh VOTE
                          ... where in this thread you saw that? Stop fabricating stuff to defend a weak point.

How much has the J$ devalued since both men were interviewed? Better yet, how much has the J$ devalued since your ppl took over the reigns? Know what? Since unuh try put a positive spin pon everything .... how many times has the J$ regained value since unuh ppl were returned to power?
                            yuh suggest it

the exchange rate basically the same............so that question