Rats Close Calabar

• Rats Close Calabar

A pack of rats has swarmed the St Andrew-based Calabar High School, forcing a temporary suspension of classes at the all-boys institution.

While the school has long struggled with a rat problem, principal Major Lincoln Thaxter yesterday told The Gleaner that the problem has worsened over the past few days.

"Over the midterm break, we tried to deal with the matter ... by setting bait and so on. But when we came back and the staff looked at the situation, we realised that the efforts that we were making did not put a serious dent in the problem," Thaxter revealed. "They (rats) were in the trees, they were in the staffroom, the drawers and, of course, there's always that threat of leptospirosis."

Parents were informed via letters, email and text messages. A copy of the email obtained by The Gleaner stated that the school would be closed from Wednesday to Friday "due to ongoing maintenance".

It did not specify the rodent situation but Thaxter said the school community was informed verbally.

He said a pest-control expert was called in to assess the situation and, after lengthy discussions on Tuesday, the decision was taken to send the students home for the remainder of the week. School is scheduled to restart on Monday.

"We regret that we had to take this decision but the safety of the students, teachers and the workers came first," he said.

No reports of illness

Thaxter said there were no reports of any boys getting sick and that the exterminators were currently doing a full inspection of the school grounds at night, identifying nest areas and setting bait for the rodents.

The principal said that during the inspection, the largest nesting ground was found in an old swimming pool at the back of the institution. He assured parents that garbage was collected daily, so the rat infestation was not an indication of an unclean environment.

"We have always had rats, but not in these kinds of numbers. You will always have rats running across places from outside the compound. We have a compound of ... acres, so they will come in from everywhere, including the communities nearby."

He also pointed out that some of the buildings are old and rats can find various nooks to inhabit. While The Gleaner spotted none of the rodents yesterday, workmen were clearing away piles of paper and other objects, a move to complement the eradication project.

"We're moving anything that we see that doesn't belong, like items of broken furniture, because those can attract rodents too. We try to repair them but those that are lying around for too long, we have to dispose of them," he explained.

Thaxter said homework was given so that the boys would not be left idle. In addition, school trips and other school-related activities to be held off the compound were still on. To make up for the three days, one day during the next term break will be taken back and Calabar will have classes two extra days near the end of the term. He is confident things will be back to normal on Monday.

"The pest-control people have assured us that this is adequate time to deal with the problem."

Thaxter estimated that clearing up the rat problem could cost upwards of $100,000, but said he felt confident the school's parent-teacher association and the old boys' network would offer any assistance required.

Why di Gleaner have pictures of Guinea Pigs for the front page story?

......because they couldn't find any recent pictures of...........
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015