Bunting Targets Major Drop in Murders by 2017

• Bunting Targets Major Drop in Murders by 2017

National Security Minister, Hon. Peter Bunting, says the Government is moving to reduce the incidence of murders in Jamaica to less than one per day, by the year 2017.

Addressing a Jamaica House press briefing on Tuesday (Feb. 21), Mr. Bunting noted that significant gains had been made over the last two years in reducing the number of murders.

Statistics show that murders fell from 62 per 100,000 of the population in 2009, to 41 per 100,000 in 2011.

“We are looking at, that by 2017, we will be 12 per 100,000, which would give you… a maximum murder figure of about 321 (per annum), less than one murder per day in 2017…that is our target. We are now slightly over three murders per day and that, if it was just a straight line reduction, would mean we need to reduce murders by 134 per year, over the next five years,” he said.

Mr. Bunting contended that, in order to achieve this target, there is need to effect more “radical changes in the way we do things”, rather than approaching the challenge in an “incremental” way.

“We are going to have to unleash the innovative potential… of all those who are tasked with tackling the national security challenges. We are facing many challenges, but we refuse to allow the gains of the last two years to slip. We are determined to, not only maintain those, but to build on them,” he stated.

By Douglas McIntosh

Hallelujah !!

And the strategy to reduce crime is? Sumtin new or a rehash from the failed policies of yesteryear?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        And the strategy to reduce crime is? Sumtin new or a rehash from the failed policies of yesteryear?
        yuh nuh fraid the comrade dem attack yuh? Dem nuh want no one ask nuh question of the religious ordah ... suh yuh back affi broad.

Well we must have a honest discussion about crime, and the Gov't needs fi clearly articulate dem strategy.

you keep saying the same thing over and over .... BUNTING AND PAULWELL out line them 4 year plan many times

Please inform this ignoramus of the plan. thanks in advance.

I would never disrespect you like that................but its all over the media

I do not have the time to go a dig all that up now

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                  I would never disrespect you like that................but its all over the media

I do not have the time to go a dig all that up now
                  HAHAHA ......

bittah! don't know how yuh going to deal wid it fi 18 more year.

Why be bittah when you, SD, Baddaz etc busy provide comic relief with some ridiculous defensive stance? Pretty soon unuh ago turn wata inna wine as unuh attempt to rewrite history.

Go do yuh damn homework yuhself and stop bodda Skeng D! Nobody more familiar with the search feature on this forum when it suit yuh.

Go do yuh wuk!

Lazy nuh ********!

Go do yuh damn homework yuhself and stop bodda Skeng D! Nobody more familiar with the search feature on this forum when it suit yuh.

Go do yuh wuk!

Lazy nuh ********!
                          Don't start with the lies now .... where you see me ask anybody to provide anything? Yuh nuh tiyad fi portray yuhself as an idiot?

So they will achieve in 5 years what they undid in 18 years? Inneresting...real inneresting...

Yes. What's the problem?!?

Thanks to Bruce for his dismantling of the TG crime network.