• Crackdown On Lotto Scam Brings Calm To St James

Crackdown On Lotto Scam Brings Calm To St James
    Published: Thursday | February 23, 20120 Comments

SSP Williams-Martin - FILE
    Adrian Frater, News Editor

WESTERN BUREAU:

SENIOR SUPERINTENDENT of Police (SSP) Linette Williams-Martin, the commanding officer for the St James Police Division, on Tuesday said the recent crackdown on alleged lotto scammers in St James is manifesting itself in the relative calm that is being experienced in the parish.

"The manifestation of the action is already showing ... . Don't you see the calm we are now experiencing," said Williams-Martin.

"I am very happy ... . If we can get rid of the scamming, we will be well on our way to getting rid of crime."

The senior officer was reacting to last weekend's targeted raids against alleged lotto scammers in the Rose Heights and Rhyne Park areas of the parish. Thirty people were arrested and 12 vehicles valued at in excess of J$450 million were seized.

Hitting them in pockets

"The more scam money these individuals have, the more firepower (guns) they need to protect themselves," said the senior superintendent. "The less scam money we have on the street, the better it will be for all of us."

Since the inception of the infamous scam back in 2006, police intelligence has regularly tied scammers to the criminal underworld, the abyss from which many of St James' most powerful criminal gangs empower themselves with powerful assault rifles and fast cars.

In last weekend's operations, which was carried out by a multi-agency team coordinated and led by police personnel from Area 1, 23 males and seven females were taken into custody in connection with lottery-scamming activities, bribery, and money laundering.

Twelve motor vehicles, cash and other items to include laptops, flat-screen television sets and other electronic devices were seized during the operations. The vehicles seized were one BMW X6, one Audi Q7, two Lexus SUVs and two Skyline motor cars.

Responding to the operation, Assistant Commissioner of Police Les Green told The Gleaner that the police are now making rapid strides in the bid to neutralise the illicit lotto scam.

adrian.frater@gleanerjm.com

This does not help either. Not even a week gone and yuh celebrating the calm.

????

All good results must be celebrated.

sigh

Sure, but confirm that the result is legitimate first nuh? One week?

Agreed, but mi just glad fi any positives on the crime front.

U were not clear.

Das all mi a say. But Willi just like fi trace mi! Sometime mi cyaan tell di difference between Willi and him friend Sickko!

Is not even one week!

Mi naah trace yuh. U just were not as clear as I-Man.

In any case, even if mi woulda cuss U yuh still bonified. loL

Di good fren thing is a low blow though. loL

Heh heh!

Sorry!