Tribalism: A Root of Jamaica's Evil...and Failure

• Tribalism: A Root of Jamaica's Evil...and Failure

Now Hear This ...all ye Forum Tribalists.. REPENT!!

How loyalty to party and leader has hurt Jamaica
    Wednesday, February 22, 2012

After 50 years, and as much as we would like to think otherwise, Jamaica is, in several respects, worse off than it was at the time of Independence in 1962.

This is certainly true in the areas of crime, economic growth, per capita income, and education. Almost all of the decline or failure are due to bad politics, with both of our major political parties guilty of poor administration, corruption and mismanagement, especially in the handling of the national debt, unemployment and the depreciation of the Jamaican dollar.

The symptoms are manifested in corruption, differing political philosophies, incompetence, dishonesty to the public, and political partisanship as a means of distributing scarce benefits. Underlying all of this is entrenched tribalism which destroys the possibility of political management dedicated to the national interest.

The paranoia about loyalty manifests itself in two perverse ways: as "inter-party political tribalism" where Labourites and Socialists do not work together and as "intra-party personality cultism" where there is no trust between factions loyal to different political personalities.

These twin afflictions of party leaders/prime ministers undermine competence in public service. First, by excluding from eligibility all those not connected to the ruling party and second, by favouring those expressly loyal to the party leader. This further narrows the already limited pool of talent willing to enter the political arena.

Intra-party political cultism promotes loyalty over skill in selecting Cabinet members and appointing persons to important posts, eg chairmen of boards. The obsession with loyalty goes even further to decide which party members get what. Who can forget the internecine warfare between Messrs Robert Lightbourne, Wilton Hill and Edward Seaga in the late 1960s.

Today, Prime Minister Simpson Miller's Cabinet is loaded with loyalists and a marked absence of persons who supported Dr Peter Phillips, despite their contribution to the successful election campaign.

If the person is a loyalist who is in need of an income or pension, then skill and experience become irrelevant. Note the number of Cabinet ministers who become high commissioners or heads of institutions. We will not, in this space, call names, in order not to embarrass anyone.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1n9MF23RH

Quote: If the person is a loyalist who is in need of an income or pension, then skill and experience become irrelevant.

Seldom get involved in Jamaican political discussions on this forum.

But this piece is extremely poignant.

Tribalism is evident on this forum. There is no common ground in most of the debates that are posted. Each person is firmly entrenched. Sad:

I think its deeper.

It is a collective subconscious social pact to bicker and politick and do ANYTHING to distract and deflect from facing reality and doing something about it. This way we can procrastinate (almost) indefinitely and not be held accountable.

We are simply afraid of hard work. We are simply afraid of responsibility and accountability. Maybe, we are afraid to risk failure?

Maybe we need to hand over the reins to Franno and Mills, as they understand risk, discipline, hard work and sacrifice to achieve clearly defined goals.

It is sad to see grown adults in the JLPNP act like a bunch of scared, impotent, hesitant, reticent imbeciles.

Nobody it seems will DARE TO BE GREAT!

word up

As individuals Jamaicans have zero problems with that concept...in fact we embrace it Full Hundred...But

Collectively...as a Nation?? ..... Big Problem

Willi you may be on to something BUT there remains the phenomenon of how hard we work outside of Jamaica and this would seem to speak more about the society and those same tribal things ... e.g. why work hard, my party in power freenes a guh run like milk and honey inna di promised land.

i agree with the franno paradigm shift (as it was) of hard work the old fashioned way may be looked upon and discarded because you are not affiliated with either sect, each looks upon you with suspicion and what's more because of how "the thing set" homage must be paid to the status quo and they must be deferred to ...

i CANNOT forget how jodi ann maxwell struggled to get sponsors but when shi win eVERYBODY start to parade har ..... all get ride inna di pm limo ....

bwoy yuh put in 2 sentences what tek mi about 3 paragraphs..

.. what really really bothers me is that most of these politicians are or were educated through someone's blood, sweat and tears. Yet their behaviour is so crude and ghettoish. From the stupid rhetorics along the election trail, to Gordon House etc.

Why them can't lift the standard in their behavior/character, work and moral ethics. If they would just attempt to do so, trust me, the people would view things differently.

If any of them was my pickney, I would just box them down with their bad arse attitude!

sigh ....

The curse of wagonnism. We have it bad.