• Bunting's Crime Update Tomorrow

Gov't To Provide Update On Crime Tomorrow

Published: Monday February 20, 2012 | 6:00 pm0 Comments
    Jamaica House has called a special press briefing for tomorrow where the National Security Minister Peter Bunting will provide an update on the crime situation.

In recent weeks there have been mounting concerns about the crime rate, particularly that of murder, with the parishes of St Catherine and St James high on the radar.

The police high command has sought to assure that it has the situation under control warning that residents will be inconvenienced as it implements certain measures.

At the same time, the high command has told cops in Spanish Town, St Catherine, that the security threat against them is extremely high.

Since the start of the year, more than 140 people have been murdered.

murder was really out of control for many years... considering if 160 murders occured in two months we would still on a pace to be below 1000 murders in a year... and, 160 murders in two months sounds like a civil war... i think if the security forces continue to be aggressive, we could see murders below the 1000 mark this year...

Unfortunately we are currently not on a rate to <1000 murders/year

At say 150 murders in 6 weeks...that's 25/week...or 1300 or so for the year

Comparable to the result for 2011

regrettably, that is the case... something drastic has to be done to stem this rate... its not lookin good...
        Last edited by Baddaz; February 20, 2012, 08:28 PM.

The killing fields of Jamaica with clueless politicians at the control tower.

I agree

i think this is where and when the ruling politicians need to make some bold propositions... it is clear that most of these murders are not driven by politics... these are mostly gang related... the people want to see the law enforcement machinery at work...

That something drastic should be a Social Contract to agree on a path to sustainable development

Anything else will be futile... memba mi tole yuh

wait.. Dudus come back ???

Gang related ??

But Dudus nuh innah Jail ah Farin ??

Heh heh heh...idiots...