• TnT come to dem senses now

Jamaica, Trinidad to tighten bonds

Published: Monday | February 20, 2012 0 Comments

Gloudon

The government of Trinidad and Tobago has extended an invitation to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to visit the twin-island republic as soon as possible. The invitation was issued last week by Trinidad's High Commissioner to Jamaica, Dr Iva Gloudon.
    According to Gloudon, it is hoped that Simpson Miller will visit Port-of-Spain at her earliest convenience for formal discussions on areas of mutual interest.
    Gloudon was speaking during a meeting with Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade A.J. Nicholson, where issues related to trade and cooperation between the two countries were discussed.
    "The current trade deficit which Jamaica has with Trinidad and Tobago is too wide and needs to be reduced. In addition, we need to work together at resolving the various issues that have negatively affected our trade relationship over the years," said Nicholson.
    He argued that both countries needed to be more active in exploring closer and more positive trade relations.
    Nicholson further argued that increased collaboration between CARICOM countries, especially Jamaica, Trinidad and Barbados, "on certain critical issues, will certainly push the regional integration process further along".
    Gloudon echoed Nicholson's sentiments while pointing out that her government had already begun the process towards heightened trade relations with Jamaica.
    According to Gloudon, a trade desk has already been established in the offices of the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association that deals specifically with trade issues with Jamaica.

hmmm...i am a little wary of this.

Dem nuh hab nuh chice. The deficit is unsustainable and if dem dont ack soon, dem lose all.

Besides producing great beef patties and dancehall music wha we haffi sell to Trinis. The country does not have a trade deficit with which country?

Just 20 years ago, we had a surplus with TnT.

The cost of production in Jamaica does mek the country very competitive. Plus fi we leaders are more interested in political power by any means, rather than job growth.

What were we selling then to Trinidad to create a surplus?? I know we were still buying their crude oil and also refined products back then

Oil did cheap.

I posted the figgahs long time, we hade a US200m surplus.

Back then we had Carreras export, Reckitts and Coleman and other Caricom manufacturing...

ok boss