Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
    I wish I had a magic wand to fix it all
    Don't we all!

Right now I am trying with some kids who seem to have their head screwed on right, and the fact that they are active in the school, church & community is a plus for me.

Yuh dun kno, I give you full props for the work you have
    been doing all these years with our kids.

Keep it up. Your blessing shall keep coming and multiplying!

That is true. Just made a visit to my high school and there was no shortage of eagerness to learn from the students.

Just about all the problems were due to lack of resources...not enough classroom space, not enough computers, not enough books in the library, students without the means , etc.

It is very frustrating to observe a promising young person being only held back by lack of opportunity.

true but if they are eager your guidance is even more important than the computer or library.

I remember a certain now reknown doctor use to study under street light as not even Kerosene lamp he didn't have. I understand the fustration still but I think my generation in my hometown had the guidance and love. Too many of us and mi a talk people especially people who live on the island and don't go back to schools or community to give a word of encouragement and tell them their story and many inna high position too.

Them say them youth yah nuh want hear it.

That is true. Just made a visit to my high school and there was no shortage of eagerness to learn from the students.

Just about all the problems were due to lack of resources...not enough classroom space, not enough computers, not enough books in the library, students without the means , etc.

It is very frustrating to observe a promising young person being only held back by lack of opportunity.
          Got yuh!

Now yuh si why mi bex?
          Fustration!

Weh Lazie deh? --- TALENT ABOUNDS!!! Opportunities suck!

Too many of us and mi a talk people especially people who live on the island and don't go back to schools or community to give a word of encouragement and tell them their story and many inna high position too.
            Sass, that is the part that is so frustrating & disheartening to me. To make it worse many of them are former students who got scholarships/bursaries (no matter how small) from alumni.

Since March 2011 to February 2012, I have made four trips to Jamaica (at my expense) to support school & community projects - and I have only seen one of the former beneficiaries.

& coming back the people @ NMIA single me out for Special Security Screening (SSS)

it all "I". I bet you Iman reasoning inspire a few youth. I remember when I was a little youth and see Mikey Dread Campbell pull up inna him white Cortina how it made us feel to know that is a man from we school and all he had to do was give us a little "hail". Titchfield has produced a lot of people in the media because of the inspiration of people like Mikey Campbell and the Older Geddes. They made others know that they could do it and that is one of the biggest empowerment especially for country people and ghetto youths.

Too many of us and mi a talk people especially people who live on the island and don't go back to schools or community to give a word of encouragement and tell them their story and many inna high position too.
                So do you recognize and support the work of the so called "diaspora" in assisting Jamaica in education, health and other critical areas??
                Perhaps you even participate in such work from time to time as a member of the aforementioned "diaspora"??

If this is correct perhaps you should consider upbraiding those fools who come on the board with disrespectful commentary about the work of this "diaspora"... instead of ignoring the odium and even finding common cause with the perpetrator within the same thread where the disrespect is propagated.

Perhaps the political genetics of the board interfere with either your judgment or motivation... but perhaps that's wild speculation on my part

Don1 - I am sure there are many of us on this forum, who are not aligned to any of the so called "disapora" groups, but who continue to give our moral and financial support to educating our people in Jamaica - through our respective alumni associations, community groups, schools and/or to individual students.

Apart from giving to Team Bickle, I belong to no group. However, I am constantly doing my little part.

""diaspora"... instead of ignoring the odium and even finding common cause with the perpetrator within the same thread where the disrespect is propagated."

Where have you seen me done this? I have encouraged everyone who have tried to give 1 cent or two words. You have never seen me join in any swing song about this. In your post I said good post and I pointed out that I didn't see anything much about teaching the teachers. You responded and I said good.

I may not believe in politicians but I believe in my country and especially the growth of youth.

I was aligned with one of the most progressive groups in North America from the initial stages, giving my little contribution in any way I can and in informal projects so Don1 can gwaan talk.

Wi talk pon forum, it surely doen't mean we talk wi life.

I celebrate such service...you are illustrating my point of recognizing the invaluable input of the diaspora to Jamaica's development...and further..
                        ....when the ignorant post rubbish about the "diaspora" and its value...they should be exposed as fools

I just wondered why this was not done... but I am up to the challenge

You misunderstand my post

The "diaspora" and their "imagined connection" to Jamaica

well I guess you must be responding to a post Bricktop made and I don't even remember what I said.

You don't see me cussing diaspora but to be honest we all have our part to bear and we have good and bad in the diaspora. I give credit to anyone who is trying to make changes positively.

well I guess you must be responding to a post Bricktop made and I don't even remember what I said.

You don't see me cussing diaspora but to be honest we all have our part to bear and we have good and bad in the diaspora. I give credit to anyone who is trying to make changes positively.
                                Sass we will stay eena wi korner and do our thing. Nuff pon diaspora just a "profile" themself!