This seems better than bullo work bushing gully bank!

• This seems better than bullo work bushing gully bank!

Another reader suggested the following: "I am thinking that as a Jamaican with some position of importance, you can quietly suggest to the Jamaican Govenrment that they engage the Chinese Government by agreeing to purchase enough solar panels to help reduce the glut in China and therefore provide a means, not only to create more than 200,000 well-paid, fairly labour-intensive jobs, but further reduce dependence on JPS while also reducing expenditure on petroleum products over the long term.
    "The best thing about all this is that China would be willing to finance that project since we are buying their product and we will have a way of repaying the loan since the reduction in petroleum costs will go to that measure. The benefits are monumental.
    "We spent over US$1.5 billion in 2010 for petroleum products. This is again possibly too good to be true for Jamaica, that has an oversupply of sun while China has an oversupply of solar panels and the additional pieces to reduce our overall power production costs for the next 25 years.
    "The jobs are created by using carpenters, and semi-skilled [people] to install the panels on available areas for maximum exposure to the sun. There is one outstanding company operating there in Jamaica -- APS (Alternative Power Systems). They are installing systems around the island and they could tell you where the people would work. There are thousands of roofs that can be used, so that's where we need the people."

That's a very nice idea....but that 200,000 job number is waaaay off the mark.

20-30,000 such jobs over the medium term would still be great

But instead of just importing solar tech we should be interesting China in building a solar complex here to PRODUCE the stuff...making Jamaica THE solar tech hub for the region...using Chinese and eventually Jamaican tech innovations

Jamaica must choose a few strategic national programs to specialize in and build a competitive advantage... apart from the traditional tourism etc AKA a really progressive... Industrial Policy.

Alternative energy is one clear favorite...which is why Digital Yard advocates that path and is beginning to lay down the knowledge infrastructure for just that course... See slides 19 & 37

#1.... ENGAGE ... AN DOAN TAP ATALL!!
    Last edited by Don1; February 15, 2012, 08:03 AM.

Sounds good.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Cool... but mi juss notice seh mi post seh China muss build di sitten "here"... like seh mi deh ah Yaad...lol

I guess Yaad is a state of mind
        Last edited by Don1; February 15, 2012, 08:01 AM.

Agreed that 200K is a strech, I was thinking like 50K, but Wignall's is seeing how he can get as many employed as possible. Some will be employed to lift material, as they are without marketable skills.

Perhaps the 20-30K will be the skilled component.

No way China is gonna be interested in building panels in Jam, what with the glut they have. HOWEVER, the conversion electicals is where I see some possibilities, especially if we can have high local input, interms of innovative circuit design, local materials or repurposing of older tech products to do the job adquately!

We could build on this to be come the ALTERNATIVE (read cost effective) regional leader and mek a viable bizniz with the Chinese!

If the kit car/musician breddah did have any innovation in this areas, den we can talk. That could be innovation I can believe in! LoL

Fruedian slip....bad sign..mind yu call wrong name....

Sound like more diaspora idiot talk to me

Yep.. mi ovastan dat... the diaspora talk dats real tuh yuh ah probably Coke, coke and deportation... Hard Talk and Hard Time ... But nuh fret di diaspora label cova reprobate said speed... All Inclusive wi seh

Gwaan hole it dung yute...Babylon soon mek "Chris" buss whe im fi buss
                Last edited by Don1; February 15, 2012, 11:30 AM.

lol

Agreed that 200K is a strech, I was thinking like 50K, but Wignall's is seeing how he can get as many employed as possible. Some will be employed to lift material, as they are without marketable skills.

Perhaps the 20-30K will be the skilled component.
                    That would be noice...but memba seh Jamaica's workforce is what? Maybe 1.2m.. so to have virtually 20% employed in a single NEW industry is unrealistic...especially if they're just retrofitting buildings and not earning hard currency... yuh tink evvybaddy aggo shell out money juss suh fi guh solar...dats a pie in the sky number

No way China is gonna be interested in building panels in Jam, what with the glut they have. HOWEVER, the conversion electicals is where I see some possibilities, especially if we can have high local input, interms of innovative circuit design, local materials or repurposing of older tech products to do the job adquately!
                    China will take into account the strategic priorities of a development partner..so we can't predict what they would do if the GOJ presents a solar complex as a priority. Jamaica's 2.7m people is akin to dozens of nondescript Chinese towns... minuscule tings
                    Memba seh dem ave 1 solar facility with a 2 gigawatt output...dats >2X Jamaica's installed power capacity... the industry there is huge...so one likkle plant inna Jamaica ah nuh nutten

To have a high local input in the downstream electronics you mention is great...but we don't have the skill sets for that and would not for maybe 10 years...IF we start an intensive training program now...so what to do in the interim?
                    Ans: Go with the simple assembly of parts for the arrays...then move to design...then advanced fabrication of components in the longer term

We could build on this to be come the ALTERNATIVE (read cost effective) regional leader and mek a viable bizniz with the Chinese!

If the kit car/musician breddah did have any innovation in this areas, den we can talk. That could be innovation I can believe in! LoL
                    [/QUOTE]
                    Mi nuh know why yuh ah fight gainst Batman an im Batmobile suh... bad mind dat

China have glut, so no way dem aggo agree to set up competition. Dat is no win-win fi dem.

Tek you meat outta dem rice. LoL

I don't think they'll see it as competition if they build it and partially or even fully control it.... they may see it as opening a new market for their clean tech

Plus they know that gluts are temporary...wen di Iran war buss an oil reach US$175/barrel ... solar will look like an excellent option again

Maybe, but this is not a low hanging fruit.

I agree bout the risk of an oil price hike.

Yuh just need rumours of war...

ok boss