Peter R...very good question on the other forum...

• Peter R...very good question on the other forum...

Same concept:

Everytime I listen to India Aries' song Brown Skin...I wonder if a white singer sang the same song ( similar lyrics), how would it be percieved?

Replace 'brown skin' with 'white skin'.

Brown Skin

Brown skin, you know I love your brown skin
    I cant tell where yours begins, I cant tell where mine ends
    Brown skin, up against my brown skin
    Need some every now and then¡­oh hey¡­

Where are your people from? maybe mississippi or an island
    Apparently your skin has been kissed by the sun
    You make me want a hershey’s kiss, your licorice

Every time I see your lips, it makes me think of honey-coated chocolate
    Your kisses are worth more than gold to me
    I’ll be your almond joy, you’ll be my sugar daddy

Every time you come around, something magnetic pulls me and I cant get out
    Disoriented, I cant tell my up from down
    All I know is that I wanna lay you down

Every time I let you in, abracadabra magic happens as we swim
    Higher and higher finally we reach heaven
    Come back to earth and then we do it all again
    Yeah¡­..

Skin so brown, lips so round
    Baby how can I be down?
    Beautiful mahogany, you make me feel like a queen
    Tell me what’s that thing you do that makes me wanna get next to you, yeah

So no white singer nuh sing bout white girls?

Thank u Sass. welcome back.

Dem certainly sing bout blondes quite frequently.

Yes.

But my question was about a particular song.

How would it be percieved if the words were changed.

Same concept as PR queried......

There are many songs about the virtues of blonde hair and blue eyes etc. For some reason that has never caused you to ask the same question?

I think you missed my point Rudi:

I took another look at PR's original query on the other page...and saw where the central question has degraded into an brand new topic.

In a debate, it is called a primary break-down.

This thread is headed into the same direction.
              Last edited by HL; February 14, 2012, 04:03 PM.

Well they have the same concept by other singers of different races and to some extent you just have to accept it.

When the rockers, metal singer them describing their women, you think the description sound Inde song?

Here's what you said at the end of your first sentence 'ssasin...

".........you just have to accept it".

And that's the position I take and agree with. Same as if Poland wants to call themselves "White Stars"--I would be ok with it.

I am sure it would not 'sit well' with lot's of other folks ('specially some blacks).

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. As in the case of Inde, I think she is obsess with her beauty and she sings about it.

When I am thinking about a strong beautiful woman, I am certainly not thinking about Margret Thatcher.

Of course it wouldn't HL...there was a group called Prussian Blue that extolled the virtue of blue eyes, blonde hair and white skin...the major news networks in the US gave them a hard time every so often...

Das my point!!

See how some choose to make the zimple.... komplex!!!

is it really different from "sister golden hair" by america?

then there is "black girl" by lenny kravitz. how many black girls were included in david lee roths "california girls" which let's face it does not in any one's mind include anyone of colour.

note that due to tanning many a "white" person also has "brown skin".

intent and context matters.

how about Buju's Browning?