that should tell you that maybe Ross was a decent MP.
Again if you check the history you will see it is not a safe PNP or JLP seat.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
never sid it was safe but most people there are NATURALLY pnp than jlp......remember ross was from the 70s.......that generation fade out from the 80s.........harry change it
The two election again Tarn was close. Harry was a poor MP. Only because Harry can talk and from that area why he won. The fact is everybody in Annotto Bay could tell you they haven't seen Tarn and he was a poor MP. Both Laborite and PNP could tell you that. On a different note they can tell you they see their councillor "Hugh Hugh" and he tries his best.
The people I talk to say the MP is poor, now go over to bordering West Portland and is a different story you hear. The fact is the good doctor has been planning and was active for a long time in those areas and I know that for a fact. He has donated to community efforts out of his own pocket and he has a work history within the community. Let us see how he perform and it will tell in the next election.
tarn was focusing on his "strongholds".... castle-ton and Richmond
why you think them pick creary over the guy from natta bay? because they thought him coulda bring out the jlp supporters in richmond and castleton to counter the bellfield and annotto bay divisions
Creary is know Parishwide. His father was a big supporter of Daddy and Alva ROSS and his brother also ran. His father was known and liked by both PNP and JLP so that is why he was choosen over Hugh Hugh. Hugh Hugh don't have the kind of machinery that Creary has. He is just a counsellor who work for his division while Creary was the mayor and known outside of his division.Anyway you can keep your opinion. I know this constituency very much and as a kid been to both Alva Ross and Harry Douglas office a few times. Have realitves and friends who are activists in that constituency on both sides. My cousin operate a business right inna the heart of the town and tell me has to stay neutral to get support from both sides so I get the info from the ground.
no a nuh so it get bad, but when you running a business especially in the heat of election time you have to be careful.
He runs a fast food thing and he wants labourite and PNP to come and get a bite and buy two beer after campaign and meeting so he keeps a low profile on that front. Both sides try to get him involved but he hold his middle ground.
My cousin operate a business right inna the heart of the town and tell me has to stay neutral to get support from both sides so I get the info from the ground.
Your cousin is a WISE business man.
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.” - Langston Hughes
Well I have to say that his views on God and religion are not far from mine.
Mutty was outrageous at times and his views on Michael Manley seemed to go beyond politics. Perhaps those personal feelings had their roots in the absolute corruption of the JBC by the PNP govt of the 70s not to mention the other abuses of state power during that era which affected him directly.
Even so he was a remarkable and fearless journalist who influenced the way I now view some significant events in Jamaican political history even if I did not share his points of view on them. He probably spent 2-3 years too long on talk radio, but clearly it was something he loved to do.
Good innings Mutty. You made some irresponsible strokes here and there but you put solid runs on the board.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass