Tax waiver on renewable energy products

• Tax waiver on renewable energy products

Energy Minister Phillip Paulwell says the government will be looking to re-institute the tax waiver on renewable energy products because taxing those products is counter productive to efforts to cut the country's energy bill.

Mr Paulwell made the commitment at an AMCHAM meeting on Thursday February 9.

Renewable energy products had attracted a tax waiver but that was discontinued last June as part of the governments tightening up on tax waivers under the guidance of the International Monetary Fund, IMF.

In addition to re-instituting the tax waivers for renewable energy products, Mr Paulwell said he will also be pushing to have 30 percent or more of the electricity grid being supplied by renewable energy.

The original target was for 20 percent of energy to be generated from renewable sources, but Mr Paulwell says that target is not ambitious enough.

Does this include Solar panels? If so great idea ...

Paulwell a tun up di ting. Maybe di baby has grown up?

look like maudib ah advice him

These measures he proposes are in the category of "no brainers"

Yuh haafi give tonx fi even small mercies!

i agree... no brainers... i've long advocated for these measures... how about extending relief on hybrid automobiles... make majority of police vehicles and govt transportation hybrids... govt buildings and ministries primarily solar powered...

True, but these vehicls aint cheap, but will pay fi demselves over time...

do the benefits outweigh the cost...

Yeah but, if you debt overloaded, that may not be an option open to U.