• Obama, The Quiet Storm

Unemployment rate hits 8.3 pct. after hiring burst

US adds 243,000 jobs and unemployment rate drops to 8.3 percent, lowest in three years

By Christopher s. Rugaber, AP Economics Reporter | Associated Press – 4 minutes 30 seconds ago

Related Content
    • An auto worker assembles parts on the 2013 Dodge Dart at the Chrysler Plant in Belvidere, Ill., Thursday, Feb. 2, 2012. Sergio Marchionne, Chairman and CEO Chrysler Group, announced that Chrysler will add a third shift at the Belvidere Plant to begin production of the Dart. The unemployment rate fell for the fifth straight month after a surge of January hiring, a promising shift in the nation's outlook for job growth. (AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast)

WASHINGTON (AP) -- In the most impressive surge for the job market since the middle of last decade, the United States added 243,000 jobs in January, far more than economists expected. The unemployment rate dropped to 8.3 percent, the lowest in three years.

Hiring accelerated across the economy and up and down the pay scale. The high-salary professional services industry added 70,000 jobs, the most in 10 months. Manufacturing added 50,000, the most in a year.

The report Friday from the Labor Department sent money pouring into the stock market and out of more conservative investments in bonds. Dow Jones industrial average futures, virtually flat before the report was released at 8:30 a.m. EST, jumped 100 points.

The stock market is already off to its fastest start in 15 years as more investors start to believe the economic recovery is finally for real and will only get stronger. The Dow has gained 4 percent in 2012.

It was the most jobs added since and April and May 2010, when 277,000 and 458,000 jobs were created. But those months were skewed by massive hiring for the census. Before that, the last month with more job creation was March 2006.

The unemployment rate was down two ticks from last month and the lowest since an 8.3 percent reading in February 2009. It was also the fifth consecutive month that the rate has fallen, the first time that has happened since late 1994.

The report seemed certain to shake up the presidential campaign, which is expected to turn on the economy. Unemployment was 7.8 percent when President Barack Obama took office in and 10 percent, its peak for the economic downturn, nine months later.

Employers have added an average of 201,000 jobs a month in the past three months. That's 50,000 more jobs per month than the economy averaged in each month last year.

The Labor Department's January jobs report was filled with other encouraging data and revisions. The economy added 200,000 more jobs in 2011 than first thought.

The unemployment rate is nearly a percentage point lower than over the summer, when many feared a recession was imminent.

Impressively, the job gains last month were spread across the economy. Even the beleaguered construction sector added 21,000 jobs, its second month of strong gains. That figure has probably been helped by unseasonably warm weather this winter.

The leisure and hospitality industry, which includes restaurants and hotels, added 44,000 jobs. Retailers added nearly 11,000.

The unemployment rate fell even as more people began looking for work. But a much larger number said they found work.

More jobs and higher incomes should help consumers boost spending and increase economic growth.

Job gains in November and December were revised upward to show that an additional 60,000 jobs were created in those two months.

The government also issued its annual revisions to jobs data going back five years. They showed that hiring was stronger over the past two years than previously thought. The economy added about 1.82 million jobs last year, nearly twice as many as in 2010.

Even with the gains, the job market faces a long way back to full health. The nation has about 5.6 million fewer jobs than it did when the recession began in late 2007.

There are still 12.8 million people out of work, though that is the fewest since the recession ended. An additional 11 million are either working part-time but would prefer full-time work, or have stopped searching for jobs.

When all those groups are combined, nearly 24 million are considered "underemployed. The so-called "underemployment" rate ticked down in January to 15.1 percent, from 15.2 percent.

Several reports signaled this week that the economy is improving gradually. Manufacturers expanded at the fastest pace in seven months in January, a private survey showed.

And fewer people sought unemployment benefits last week, the Labor Department said. The four-week average of applications fell to its second-lowest level since June 2008. The drop shows that companies are cutting fewer jobs, which usually leads to more hiring.

Americans spent more at big chain retail stores last month compared with a year earlier. And automakers began 2012 with a strong sales gain in January. Healthier auto sales can boost a range of companies, from steel makers to parts suppliers to shippers.

The economy expanded at a 2.8 percent annual pace in the October-December quarter, a full percentage point higher than in the previous quarter.

Even so, economists expect slower growth this year. Much of the fourth quarter's expansion was due to companies ordering more goods to restock their warehouses. Restocking is likely to slow in the first three months of this year. That would drag on growth. Europe's financial crisis could also slow demand for U.S. goods. And average wages failed to keep up with inflation last year. That leaves consumers with less spending power, which can hamper growth.
    Last edited by Karl; February 3, 2012, 03:49 PM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Kiss Teeth

Kiss Teeth

Monthly jobs report featuring mixed results are becoming a trend and January 2012 was no different. The African-American unemployment rate declined significantly to 13.6 percent from 15.8 percent in December. The overall unemployment rate also fell from 8.5 percent to 8.3.

http://www.bet.com/news/national/201...provement.html

Thats what happens when you have no skills in an economy that requires it more and more each year.

Stay in school black youths, we already have enough rappers and ballers to supply those industries for the next 2 decades.

Not exactly, when you account for all things being equal, education etc, the black unemployment is significantly higher than whites.

In 2008, the mean annual income of blacks with a four-year degree was more than $13,000 less than that of whites with the same level of education. And blacks who had a master's earned about $1,500 a year less than whites with a bachelor's degree.

But all things are NOT equal and we know that.

Family contacts, the school you went to, the community you live in, and yes some good old fashioned racism as well.

All the more reason to get some skills and make a move. Nobody nah dweet fe we. Obama can't fix dat neither.

so true...look like dem need one Digital Yard ova yah...mi memba smaddy did seh dat

You have missed the point of my post. When comparing persons of similar education, the black unemployment is much higher for blacks than whites, and racism & discrimination is the primary factor. Obama's policies of being hypersensitive when it comes to urban poor and black people, and stating that he is the president of all Americans tells us about his approach.

Not so simple I-man. The construction industry hit a lot of tradesmen and also nuff company use last in first out and left a lot of minorities out in the cold.

Many educated and experience black men have been hurt bad by the recession and trying but it has been tough and nuff places would rather hire a black woman as it get them pass the minority and women quotas.

Trust me this is no ordinary time and if people can hold up their hand and say they haven't been laid off, hours cut or salary cut then them fi say give thanks as this recession changed the argument somewhat.

The construction industry prefers to hire unskilled white men, instead of unskilled black men as laborers. Drive by any construction project and you rarely see black men at work. It has little to do with "connections", maybe racial connections.

yeah but blacks who use to work in the industry or who use to be contractors a feel it and their prospect of been hired again is not looking very good.

It tough fe everybody, no group has been spared.

Unoo can explain why the Asians dem mek so much progress inna Silicon Valley? You think dem love dem and see them as equals?

The reason is simple: THEY ARE HIGHLY EDUCATED so their skills are in demand. In the end the color that matter the most is GREEN.

Dem still get a fight when it come to the boardroom positions so wha, more of them start them own companies because they have that option. We don't because we have little access to capital and little skills.

You ever go a black small business event yet? Pure bail bondsman, hair salon and barber shop to rhatid. Maybe a restaurant or two. Yeah that is an over-generalization but we really not moving with the times.

nuff educated Asian and Indians siddun at home now to I-man. Nuff a them. A friend of mine husband who is one of the best plastic scientist in the world was laid off for an extended period too.

Don't be fooled a lot of blacks are making it up the ladder and are in places like Silicon valley as well but......

Another thing is the educated and business men may not be the same. So the trade show thing different right now. For me that is a different topic which I would love to talk to you on later, as most of the educated blacks are not looking to start businesses they want jobs.

Assasin, a lot of blacks are NOT making it up the ladder in Silicon Valley. A lot of blacks are not in Silicon Valley, period. That is a white and Asian industry. We are not in those degree programs to start with so how can we expect to be in those jobs?

Get away from the "nuff" and "a lot" talk. Figures we a deal with: 48% of Asian Americans have college degrees, Asians earn 25% of the doctorate degrees awarded in the US and they are is less than 10% of the population.

Bottom line, black unemployment will be disproportionally high as long as the black education level is disproportionately low. We cannot fully control discrimination but we can do much better than we are doing educationally.

It will be higher but in today's economy we can't just put it down to education, that is simply not so.

I know too many qualified, educated ane experience people out of a job right now and trying very hard.

I wasn't suggesting that the 15% black unemployment rate is all due to education. If the economy improves it will improve, if the economy gets worse the rate will get worse as well.

I was referring to the gap between the national employment rate and the black employment rate. A significant portion of that gap (not all) is due to lack of marketable skills.

To Horticals point, even if the education levels were the same for blacks and whites there would still be a gap, it just would not be as large.

Wouldn't you expect to see a gap in the income level of high school graduates of Campion and graduates of Charlie Smith? Then select only those who earned more than say 7 subjects and would you still expect to see a gap, only smaller?

(Yes Maudib me know, dat is everybody at Campion )