• Democracy or Mendicancy that is the question

AJ begs for help

Asks diplomats to support revision of Ja’s status as middle-income country
    BY PAUL HENRY henryp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, February 01, 2012

FOREIGN Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister AJ Nicholson wants Jamaica's status as a middle-income country to be revised on the ground that the World Bank classification has resulted in a cutting of critical concessionary financing to the island.

Nicholson made the call yesterday during an address to world diplomats gathered at Jamaica House as part of Diplomatic Week activities.
    Foreign Trade Minister AJ Nicholson

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

In his address, Nicholson said that the middle-income classification has already cost the island the critical yearly pledge of several million US dollars from the Global Fund, which goes towards the fight against HIV/AIDS.
    The discontinuance of the funds is a blow to Jamaica which had a national budget of $200 million for HIV/AIDS two years ago. The Global Fund in 2010 pledged $26 million to Jamaica's fight against HIV/AIDS.
    Following yesterday's function, Nicholson told reporters that the middle-income classification will make it hard for the country to access funds critical to sustained development.
    "What we are hoping is that there will be a reclassification. The truth is that it is going to be difficult, perhaps impossible, for us to access the funds that can help us in our development. And especially the development that is sustained if we are classified in the way that we are in this point in time," said Nicholson. "We are an indebted country. We have many of the challenges that some of the countries who are not so classified have."
    According to Nicholson, the UK acknowledged during the recent Caribbean Forum meeting in Grenada that "there is some degree of unfairness in this classification and that there could be a rethink". He said there should be rethinking as to how that classification is made, and noted that Jamaica's environmental funds may also be affected.
    Nicholson's call for a "rethink" of how countries are classified echoes a similar appeal made last September by then Foreign Minister Dr Ken Baugh.
    In making the middle-income classification several years back, one of the factors looked at by the World Bank was Jamaica's gross national income of $2,820 per capita, which is based on the bank's operational lending categories (civil works preferences, Individual Development Account eligibility, etc).
    During the function, Nicholson asked the diplomats for their support in having the issue addressed, noting that several other developing countries are in a similar position.
    "It is our view that there is a case to be made for rethinking the treatment of these countries, given the challenges and constrains such as poverty, high indebtedness and other socio-economic problems that they continue to face," said Nicholson.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1l9Aegt5R

What yuh seh X?

not sure what is wrong with what the minister said... perhaps you could shed some light on the motivation for your question...

considering...

Nicholson's call for a "rethink" of how countries are classified echoes a similar appeal made last September by then Foreign Minister Dr Ken Baugh.

did you consider it mendicancy when baugh made a similar appeal... or, you wasn't aware of baugh's appeal...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        not sure what is wrong with what the minister said... perhaps you could shed some light on the motivation for your question...

considering...

[/b]

did you consider it mendicancy when baugh made a similar appeal... or, you wasn't aware of baugh's appeal...

The new move is to beg one's way out! PPL powah Baddaz yuh gonna aafi labor wid the sword and shield.

new move!!!!... all now yuh ansa mi question bout when dr. ken baugh made a similar appeal... was it mendicancy then when baugh made the appeal or is it only mendicany now that nicholson made the appeal...

When the previous gov't was making unpopular decisions ... unuh cry and complain call dem uncaring etc ...etc.... dis ppl want ... beg unuh way out.

What a joke. I guess Baugh made a proud polite request while Nicholson begged.

I suspect the timing is unfortunate.. priorities different.. one raise di issue after 4 years of hard work.. di next raise it fuss ting..

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                  What a joke. I guess Baugh made a proud polite request while Nicholson begged.

Laugh nuh! I see people a get a wedgy trying to defend. When tough decisions were being made people called the gov't uncaring. I guess this is the better option .. pan in hand.

huh... what does that have to do with the question... keep it str8...

yuh seit tuh... all mi want is a straight answer from lazie and all now is bere twist, turn and shuffling from him...

huh... what does that have to do with the question... keep it str8...
                        yuh mean keep it real? Thats what I do Baddaz. Yuh ago have nuff defending fi duh .... suh calm yuhself.

Lets just sit and wait to hear the Supp. budget presented.

yuh seit tuh... all mi want is a straight answer from lazie and all now is bere twist, turn and shuffling from him...
                          You got an answer already. It may not be want yuh want .... but remember ... this isn't burger king.

I suspect the timing is unfortunate.. priorities different.. one raise di issue after 4 years of hard work.. di next raise it fuss ting..