an dis...is who write dis one?

omg.. the things you can learn... the writer is lydia maria child... an early american abolitionist and womens right activist... now hear da part ya... she is from medford, mass... a place where mi used tuh live... and mi pass her house all de while, knowing that it was a historic house (it says so), but not knowing why it was historic... amazing...

from wikipedia...

'Child was a women's rights activist, but did not believe significant progress for women could be made until after the abolition of slavery. She believed that white women and slaves were similar in that white men held both groups in subjugation and treated them as property instead of individual human beings. Despite the fact that she worked towards equality for women, Child made her opinion known that she did not care for all-female societies. She believed that women would be able to achieve more by working alongside men.'

here is her wiki link...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lydia_Maria_Child

Thanks bredrin!

no mdmex... i dont see it as wrenk... you have to put that in its proper context... then you will see what she is saying makes a lot of sense...

Yes, after I read it again, I was just picking at snippets of the letter!

Dis is not just a letter, dis is an Episitle! This lady was a visionary in her time.

One other thing I did not appreciate until until recently as i have read more is how much people of that era were aware of what was going on in other slave-owning territories. Somehow I thought that with communication being what it was at the time, people in the US for example didn't know or care much about what was going on in Brazil, Haiti, English-speaking Caribbean, etc.

Apparently both the slaveowners and the abolitionists were very aware, if not the slaves and former slaves as well.

Good thread to start off Black History month!

Thanks Gamma and Baddaz!

Lee Kwan Yew would not approve of all this rumination about long past irrelevant claptrap

Leave such Middle Passage nonsense for the buffoons at the Intellectual Ghetto

Joke unnu ah mek...Get with the program..Wake up and smell di Latte

LOL! Some man all want to ignore wha happen inna the 1960s and man a post letter from the 1860s?

Yuhzimi

you could tell a dat from just reading the letter?!!!! yuh good baba!

huh??? if you are referring to the letter by l. maria childs
                        that i posted, then yes i could tell all that... it is clear that it was written by a white sympathizer speaking to newly freed slaves... couldn't you...

after reading the letter i googled l. maria child and found out more info... her name is lydia maria childs... i shared the link...

i am talking about the letter i posted .... purportedly from the ex slave.

ok... understood... that purported ex-slave letter has been getting a lot of attention, making the rounds in emails... many questioning it's authenticity... many cannot believe such a well written letter could have been articulated by an ex-slave from that time... fact is, it was dictated and someone else wrote it...

i am sure the person who wrote it took some journalistic liberties ....

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                                ok... understood... that purported ex-slave letter has been getting a lot of attention, making the rounds in emails... many questioning it's authenticity... many cannot believe such a well written letter could have been articulated by an ex-slave from that time... fact is, it was dictated and someone else wrote it...
                                Him might a couldn't read, but him formulate his thoughts well........