Brazil rich and poor
Sounds like a success story to me....nuff poor being lifted out of poverty while the rich doing better also so no flight of capital.
Realistically, this is almost the best case scenario for sustained economic growth."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Yep. We really expect the poor to get richer AND rich to get less rich at the same time? Dat is redistribution of wealth, not economic growth and in the long run it ends up badly. Socialist fantasy dat.
You know how much millionaire deh a China, Russia and India these days compared to 10-15 years ago?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostYep. We really expect the poor to get richer AND rich to get less rich at the same time? Dat is redistribution of wealth, not economic growth and in the long run it ends up badly. Socialist fantasy dat.
You know how much millionaire deh a China, Russia and India these days compared to 10-15 years ago?'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Me View PostWho cares about the disparity if the poor people are no longer poor.
Brazil's super rich grow richer as poor are left behind
its ok if you dont care about disparity... good thing many people including the university professor naercio menezes dont share that view...
you missed the part where he said if you were born in a poor family it is unlikely that you will eventually become rich...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
If you asked the formerly poor in Brazil or anywhere else if they prefer to be poor again but with a smaller disparity between them and the rich , what u think the majority would say?
I have no problem with the rich getting richer once others in society are getting the opportunity to better themselves as well."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass