• Brazil rich and poor

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16811925

Sounds like a success story to me....nuff poor being lifted out of poverty while the rich doing better also so no flight of capital.

Realistically, this is almost the best case scenario for sustained economic growth.

really...

Yep. We really expect the poor to get richer AND rich to get less rich at the same time? Dat is redistribution of wealth, not economic growth and in the long run it ends up badly. Socialist fantasy dat.

You know how much millionaire deh a China, Russia and India these days compared to 10-15 years ago?

Yep. We really expect the poor to get richer AND rich to get less rich at the same time? Dat is redistribution of wealth, not economic growth and in the long run it ends up badly. Socialist fantasy dat.

You know how much millionaire deh a China, Russia and India these days compared to 10-15 years ago?
          no... its the disparity that is disconcerting... the gap between rich and poor...

Who cares about the disparity if the poor people are no longer poor.

badmind and grudgeful... serious ting..

Originally posted by Me View Post
                Who cares about the disparity if the poor people are no longer poor.
                the title:
                Brazil's super rich grow richer as poor are left behind

its ok if you dont care about disparity... good thing many people including the university professor naercio menezes dont share that view...

you missed the part where he said if you were born in a poor family it is unlikely that you will eventually become rich...

becoming rich is a low probablity in any society..

If you asked the formerly poor in Brazil or anywhere else if they prefer to be poor again but with a smaller disparity between them and the rich , what u think the majority would say?

I have no problem with the rich getting richer once others in society are getting the opportunity to better themselves as well.

Sass how you just post this and run lef the thread? What is your take on the story?