• Mandatory DNA testing possible for unsure dads

No more jackets? - Mandatory DNA testing possible for unsure dads

Crystal Harrison and Chad Bryan, Star Writers

The likelihood of Jamaican men being tricked into parenting children or as Jamaicans would say 'getting a jacket' may become a thing of the past as potential dads will soon be subjected to a DNA test, once there is doubt.

In 2009, the then prime minister, Bruce Golding, said instructions had been given to Cabinet to amend the Registration, Birth and Death Act to require the inclusion of the father's name in the registration of birth.

While it has not yet become mandatory, when this happens, DNA testing will become compulsory if the father denies the child or children in question.

Checks made by THE STAR with central Kingston Member of Parliament, Ronnie Thwaites, who for years has been lobbying for fathers' names to be on the birth certificates, revealed that the bill has not yet reached parliament.

According to the MP, "I cannot say how long this will take, but what I know is that the law is being drafted to have it reflected."

When contacted yesterday, a representative from the Ministry of Health referred us to the Registrar General's Department (RGD).

However, the deputy chief executive officer of the RGD, Yvette Scott, told us, "it is a policy decision being dealt with by the Ministry of Health."

THE STAR also spoke to Caribbean Genetics, (CARIGEN), the only private DNA testing facility on the island and we were informed that they are aware of the possible change and would be able to facilitate the DNA testing.

"In terms of volume, we can facilitate that. Right now we are not operating at full capacity so we could easy well handle a lot more volume," a representative from CARIGEN told us.

Could open up a whole can of worms....

you mean a whole GARMENT FACTORY !

WEH U SEH MAUDID BRING BACK FREE ZONE ???