projects like these need support...

MVP was innovating in an area of comparative advantage with drop everything attitude and passion. Frannos entire focus was on learning all he could and innovating the rest and implementing it tangibly.Low hanging fruit.

Here we have a musician who dabbles part time in assembling a kit car with imported parts and no hint of any real innovation in the article, yet you agree that it is worthy of support/prioritization? Come betta dan dat. As a business man, yuh know that it dont past the commercial smell test.

Now, if you want a local idea worthy of attention, the farmer that developed the chicken plucking machine, THAT should should be emphasiszed.

If I was UWI/UTech, based on what I read about this car, no way would I be prioritizing scarce/expensive resources on this. This come in like the likkle yute that assembled PCs from imported parts and people did ah try big him up the the Observer like seh it was some kinda genius innovation..

=Willi;340052]MVP was innovating in an area of comparative advantage with drop everything attitude and passion. Frannos entire focus was on learning all he could and innovating the rest and implementing it tangibly.Low hanging fruit.
      Yes...but we have to do more than sport. People who "try a ting" no matter how seemingly fanciful from afar, should be celebrated imho. If di cyar ting nuh ready The guy could be guided to do something else which is a world beater...no?

give examples of LOCAL innovative investors in the technology and production sector.................before this "paypah trading"

the (96% of d upper class)business people in Jamaica WUKLISS if u neva ..........NOTICE

no matter how "good" the economy get.......it nuh matter really

Di guy is a musician, dat is where is major passion is and where he is likley to make his major contribution.

I dont say NOT to celebrate any of his endeavours, but to warp policy in that direction is a mistake.

I am not saying that we only do sports. Yuh figget I mention the chicken farmer?

Agriculture (including superfood nutraceuticals)/mining/alternative energy/ICT/light manufacturing/specialist services/ antique refurbishing including vintage machines/ etc. Dem kinda things. We can do it better/cheaper or just more stylishly, den we in bizniz.

People who try a ting in dose areas get my attention and I hope that of officialdom.

Well when yuh set it up seh all dem haffi do is roll over paper and get super returns and nuh tek any risk, what yuh expect. Never too adventurous and ambitious before, they got downright lazy and expectant under Omar.

--->before this "paypah trading"<----

We cannot stay from afar and pick individual winners...people on the ground need to do that. We must create the tools, the platform and the environment for innovation...and make the Whizzies flow...precisely what Digital Yard is about

I addressed all your points in a long post but it's not taking.

If I was UWI/UTech, based on what I read about this car, no way would I be prioritizing scarce/expensive resources on this. This come in like the likkle yute that assembled PCs from imported parts and people did ah try big him up the the Observer like seh it was some kinda genius innovation.
                  Disagree 1000%

Our human resources are NOT scarce....they are overwhelmingly abundant. Many of those UTech engineering students we relate to have no internships!! They are looking for things to do...and many begging to guh ah foreign to get a break.

My lady mek sure seh di Siemens PLM toolkit deh ah Yard inna bungle...The software is freely available and the skill set is being developed...we have all we need to get going. I'm not saying the car is a winner...that's not in my pay grade to evaluate...nor is the car necessarily even important from a tech standpoint...it's important because it EXISTS...and the creator is right in our midst

I'm saying we need to marry engineering science in academia with local entrepreneurs...we need to give both a platform to CREATE..... within a year or 2 if Jah guide we will have secondary school kids with many of the same skills.... talent will abound

The guy's car would make a perfect UTech Design Engineering Case Study...the lessons we could learn from that...what to do and what NOT to do...would be priceless to those with ears to hear and brains to ovastand

Mi guarantee yuh seh out of dat marriage good tings will flow... juss lika MVP
                  Last edited by Don1; January 31, 2012, 12:26 PM.

Here we have a musician who dabbles part time in assembling a kit car with imported parts and no hint of any real innovation in the article, yet you agree that it is worthy of support/prioritization? Come betta dan dat. As a business man, yuh know that it dont past the commercial smell test.
                    Article never said it was from a kit...in fact it said the body was locally fabricated and I guess other components were imported and custom built to his own design.

Again I can't tell from here (or I am not even qualified) to say whether there's innovation here or not...but I think the guy is inventive and proactive.. gets things done... mi love dat and would want to celebrate dat

Now, if you want a local idea worthy of attention, the farmer that developed the chicken plucking machine, THAT should should be emphasiszed.
                    I agree with that one too.... that should be supported/investigated despite the fact that machines are mass produced already to do exactly what that device does and much more
                    Last edited by Don1; January 31, 2012, 12:24 PM.

40098]Di guy is a musician, dat is where is major passion is and where he is likley to make his major contribution.

I dont say NOT to celebrate any of his endeavours, but to warp policy in that direction is a mistake.
                      Doesn't matter what his profession is...1000% immaterial. Einstein worked at the patent office as a clerk when he started his path..

I am not saying that we only do sports. Yuh figget I mention the chicken farmer?

Agriculture (including superfood nutraceuticals)/mining/alternative energy/ICT/light manufacturing/specialist services/ antique refurbishing including vintage machines/ etc. Dem kinda things. We can do it better/cheaper or just more stylishly, den we in bizniz.

People who try a ting in dose areas get my attention and I hope that of officialdom
                      When peeple whizzy get engaged...yuh aggo tell dem whe fi duh wid it??

Mek freedom reign...there is no big govament cash or handouts involved with our conception... mi bun fiya pon pallitician...werk round dem

I had the same problem too. Long post that vanished.

I was talking more about screening than picking individual winners. i agree that we cant do that.

My whole point is that the OP was doing just that with a project that did not even pass prelim screening!

The heart is an engine kit. The skin matters little.

Nah, but him nuh leff the music and tek dis on, so him heart still wid the music.

Franno leff the accountant wuk and went full 100!

Dis will be better as an offline discussion as there seems to be many misunderstanding even though we dont seem to be much apart in thinking...

How the parts are assembled or designed to function together can create innovation...the smallest change can create something new, valuable and potentially patent-able..no?