• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• projects like these need support...

FAST & FUMELESS

BRIAN BONITTO Associate Editor Auto and Entertainment
    Friday, January 27, 2012

KNOWN in Montego Bay as a top entertainer and businessman. Paul Hurlock is quietly carving out a name for himself as an inventor. But, he insists music is his first love.

"I'm a musician by profession... I have performed extensively on the North Coast at such hotel properties as Sandals, SuperClubs, Half Moon, the Hilton, as well in the United States and Europe," he said.

However, the owner of Day-O Plantation Restaurant and Bar in Fairfield, Montego Bay, said he has always been intrigued by futuristic transportation.

"This is something I always wanted to be involved in. So, in 1996 I built the Electrogen -- a battery-operated car," he said. "It took me two years to build."

Hurlock said he did not have any training in this area of expertise, but his passion was fuelled by his curiosity by reading.

According to him, the rocket-shaped, right-hand drive, four-seater, sea gull-winged door vehicle is powered by 12 lithium batteries that can be charged either by the sun or electricity.

"The sun charges three batteries and when the vehicle is started, those three are powered to charge the rest," Hurlock told Auto.
    The inventor said anywhere the outdoor the vehicle is parked, the batteries are being charged.

"So, it's an on-board charging system," he said.
    Hurlock said since the vehicle has no engine and it does not give off toxic fumes, it is very environmentally friendly.
    "This is cutting edge technology," he said.

The musician, who has produced three albums, said the Electrogen can reach a speed of up to 100 miles per hour.
    Another feature of the Hurlock's Electrogen is that it can also be used independently as a standby generator.