Former NBA All-Star Vin Baker, now brukpocket

• Former NBA All-Star Vin Baker, now brukpocket

Another brother who could not manage his money & made poor investment decisions.

Baker hired Brodeur to represent him as his manager in 1997, two years before Baker signed a seven-year, $86.6 million contract with the Seattle SuperSonics, according to the lawsuit.
    http://www.courant.com/sports/basket...,7783961.story

And people say we ready fe collect reparations?

No sah, mek the money dat due to we stay wid Babylon fe another 50 years and gather some interest until we get we act together. If we tek it now it will be all gone back to them in one generation.

the problem is dem lef babylon fi watch dem money, funny ting is if a did suppen illegal him woulda neva lef di money outta him sight

sometimes even when they try to do the 'right thing', they get screwed... many of these money managers are only looking out for themselves... their argument, which appear plausible is 'you just focus on sports, we will manage your money'... too many players fall for that... it is criminal how these people who flout their credentials, exploit these high earning ball players...

Vin Baker was a drunk and a drug abuser...this is not surprising...

you've got to understand that most of these players are steered to these unscrupulous scumbags by their team personnel and agents, who are all in the same circle...

Baker charged with drunk driving

NORWICH, Conn. -- Former NBA All-Star Vin Baker, whose 14-year NBA career was marred by bouts of depression and alcoholism, was charged early Tuesday with drunken driving after leaving a casino.
              Baker

The 35-year-old Baker was spotted driving erratically after leaving Foxwoods Resort Casino, according to a state police report. He failed a sobriety test and was charged with driving while impaired.
              State police spokesman Lt. J. Paul Vance described Baker's demeanor as cooperative.
              Baker's agent, Charles Grantham, said he hasn't talked to his client and declined comment.
              A four-time All-Star forward who attended the University of Hartford, Baker averaged 15.0 points and 7.4 rebounds in the NBA.
              The 6-foot-11 forward was a member of the gold medal-winning Olympic team in 2000 and enjoyed his best seasons with Milwaukee and Seattle.
              Baker's alcoholism forced the Boston Celtics to cut him midway through the 2003-04 season. He later admitted drinking in his hotel room after playing poorly and showing up to practice with alcohol on his breath.
              He also played for New York, Houston and the Los Angeles Clippers before being released by Minnesota six games into the 2006-07 season.
              Baker was released on $500 bond and was due in court June 26.

that is what i initially thought was the reason for his troubles... when he was in boston, he had alcohol problems... it was said that was the main reason the celtics let him go...

from the article, his troubles are from another source...

this is an old article... but i get the point... he has a history of alcohol and depression...

If I had a child in sports, the only person managing that money would be ME! All the other so called money managers and harbor sharks would get SCREWED!

An example need to be made of these Managers, but I suppose that at some stage a player is gonna "maime" one of them.

Damn shame!!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                      If I had a child in sports, the only person managing that money would be ME!
                      That gets a lot of them in trouble too...what does a mother, cousin, aunty, uncle, homeboy know about managing finances on that scale? You can't just hand your money to a manger and say deal with it...you have to have an input and vet all decisions...

Exactly. You would think enough have gone broke for them to get that by now.

Brodeur and the accounting firm told Baker not to worry, "You are being taken care of," and that, "Your investments are being watched."
                        WTF?? Only a eeediat coulda have millions on the line and accept that. Too damn lazy and nuh want tek nuh personal responsibilty.

Bricky - this mother may not know much, but right now Baker have $ZERO. With a mother like me, at least his Principal would have been secured; him wouldn't be BRUCK .............

Yes, I pulled up the article for info. The irony is centers have a much longer career than other players and some even play until 40.