• Does this institution qualify as a

"good school"?

http://aisk.com/

just behind JC Don1... i must admit I never knew about this school until recently when I saw a report on Sportsmax that featured an invitee sports tournament that included Hillell another local school that escapes me (Campion?) and "international" schools from Cayman and Bahamas... instructively two of the disciplines involved were Skeet shooting and golf.

FYI I work with a similar institution here in TT so my interest level is very high.

Of course the principles behind their teaching methods are what my own philosophy ( who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks? )... the fees would only be affordable to types like Muadib, Bricky and Mo... LOL

btw "Just behind JC" in their physical location... whether or not just behind academically speaking is a different question... LOL

But $10 K US /yr supposed to give yuh something that you can sink your teeth into!

actually met a kid here in boston who told me he went to that school... his father is an american diplomat... apparently, from what he told me many of the kids parents are foreigners on assignment in jamaica... many from the various embassies and corporate heads...

I am aware of the entity...used to be over by Constant Spring Golf Course. Mainly Children of Babylon and Assorted Tapanaris...curriculum US-focused

The JC Trust leased them (50 years I think) about 10 very valuable acres the school had in reserve in Hope Pastures...where there was the Horse Riding Club back in the bad old days

Wi shudda run dem out an use dat land fi real people imho

They get a lot of their stronger performers by convincing Campion students to go there for the last two years of their education. That way the parents can get them into the American system without sending them away to the boarding schools in New England.

When my eldest daughter was in her undergrad years she had three roommates who had all done the IB programme... her comment was that they were all "bright". Now I don't believe the system makes you "bright" but that you are intrinsically so... however, some systems of education are more in tune with the "modern" world than others..

I have been looking at "AP" courses and again these are not for everyone but they do provide the university bound student with some advantages if they have have them under their belt.

And if your folks have the cash and you wish to be a CXC or CAPE refugee it is an option that gets you where you want to go like the Campion student (or wherever the originate from) that you mention... just show them the $$$.

There lies the crunch...the $$ are out of reach for most....so should be start to off er this curriculum in some of our PUBLIC schools? Is it possible? Or just have some look alike courses and put them in CXE....CAPE...?

The fees are OUTRAGEOUS!

Grades 1-5 have a $6,500 a semester fee, PLUS $1,500 in building fund and a one off entry fee of $4,500.

Dem outtta dem freaking minds.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                    There lies the crunch...the $$ are out of reach for most....so should be start to off er this curriculum in some of our PUBLIC schools? Is it possible? Or just have some look alike courses and put them in CXE....CAPE...?
                    A Quality Curriculum is the easy part... Quality teachers and quality infrastructure are the road blocks

Mountain blocks yuh mean.

We give up a 20m jump in a 100m race.

50 igle years not easy to recover.

Mountain blocks yuh mean.

We give up a 20m jump in a 100m race.

50 igle years not easy to recover.
                        yes

Constant Spring Golf course? Hear dis farriner...it was across from Shortwood Teacher's College yuh damn tourist...

So are the networking opportunities...this is Jamaica...yuh set fi life if yuh pickney go AISK

amazing

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html

The former AISK property fronted Olivier Rd...and guess what.. So does Constant Spring Golf Course

All those years on Coke.. University must have addled your brain
                              Last edited by Don1; January 27, 2012, 08:51 AM.