• Heart and soul: Portraits of black American history

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-16735646

The black history is shirked in American schools. The details of slavery is not properly written and told at the elementary level - grades 7 to 9. When I did history in high school, we learned about the atrocities of the Middle Passage to the conditions on the plantations. I learned about the revolutions and how we (the West Indian countries) came to gain independence. American learn about the black experience through movies like Amistad and series like Roots. The history books at that early level, are glossed over.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

True to an extent. But it is a hard lesson to deal with.

I read Alice Walker's book Jubilee recently. And it was so difficult to read .... all the atrocities against my kinsmen; every chapter - I cussed and cried!

And, personally I know that inter-marriage is not something for me (fine with me whoever decides to go that route).

this may ruffle many feathers (especially in ja) http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/human-family-tree/