• no more imf borrowing...

No more IMF borrowing- Phillips

Published: Tuesday January 24, 2012

Finance Minister Dr. Peter Phillips - Photo.

Arthur Hall, Senior Staff Reporter

Jamaica will not be looking to borrow any more money from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), in the new arrangement which is to be hammered out by Finance Minister Dr. Peter Phillips and his team.

Dr. Phillips completed meetings with an IMF mission in Kingston this week.

He told journalists at a press conference this morning that the initial talks have set the stage for negotiations for a new deal with the IMF in March.

However, he later told the Gleaner/Power106 news that the country does not have a balance of payment problem, so it is unlikely that it will be borrowing money from the IMF.

He said no effort will be made to revive the deal which was struck by former finance minister Audley Shaw.

He said instead a new agreement will be negotiated with the IMF.

According to Phillips, this week’s meetings provided the government and the IMF with an opportunity, to give their opinions on the state of the Jamaican economy and the world economy.

radio@gleanerjm.com

Good News !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

" However, he later told the Gleaner/Power106 news that the country does not have a balance of payment problem, so it is unlikely that it will be borrowing money from the IMF. "

... bit by bit .....

sooo...who dem gwine borrow fram ?

Govt revenue can sustain the budget ???

I am confused.. summaddy explain fi mi.. mi ah get nerminous now..

Clueless....this is not the 70/80s anymore,its like the jlp is stuck in 1980s,i hear clowns talking about brigadista,crash programme,borrow from the imf...wake up the cold war is over , America trades with China , buys oil from socialist venezueala and has legalised pot in a 1/3 of its states,soon to buy oil from cuba.

You idiots are lost in rhetoric and retarded in ideology,so much so that the PNP is viewed as better governance of the economy and a caring party.

Do you even know where and when you clowns lost the plot?You can find solace that people view you both as incompetent crooks but too bad you beat the PNP there.

18 more years.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

can you answer the simple question I posed...

everyone else is borrowing from the IMF.. mi juss confused..

where are they going to borrow the money from ?.. das all mi waan know..
            Last edited by Muadib; January 24, 2012, 08:38 PM.

You are a bonafide clown.....everyone is borrowing from the imf ...really.....like i said you havent a clue of where ,how and when you lost the plot, so to get out of it is impossible.

18 more years.

stop being obtuse..

answer the question.. who are we to borrow from ?

Simple question can you answer ?

I am curious who was the fool/clown/idiot that was waging an internet campaign implying that the IMF agreement/economic/political friendship with washington(america) was based on the JLP winning a 2nd term ?

Based on what premise would a fool wage such campaign? Is there a cold war going on ? after ********ing washington off with Duduss/Manatt gate which clown actually had the balls to push that internet agenda .

Was it another masterstroke by G2K or Bruce Golding ?

Unnuh bloody clueless.

let me know when you are ready to answer the basic question... who wi muss barrah from ?

Maybe him pondering begging money from the Chinese. Tax revenues a nuh enough fi balance the budget.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        Maybe him pondering begging money from the Chinese. Tax revenues a nuh enough fi balance the budget.
                        Balance of payments refers to our trade balance...imports vs exports... not the fiscal budget partly funded by tax revenue

But your sentiment is on the right track. Phillips must have been misquoted ... Jamaica has a huge balance of payments problem. I don't see where that trade deficit will be met short of borrowing...and the IMF unfortunately is the only game in town ...an agreement wid dat Babylon agency will unlock funds from other multi-lateral agencies as well

Dawg nyam wi suppa

yuh ah talk foolishness...

X soon school yuh..

You gonna answer the man question? You sound like the clown here...PNP took out high interest loans to pay off the low interest IMF loans...who are the clowns?

Originally posted by Don2 View Post
                              Phillips must have been misquoted
                              The "Hero's" hero to the rescue...