Canadian doctor suggests ... Spike drinking water to reduce violence!

• Canadian doctor suggests ... Spike drinking water to reduce violence!

<DIV id=printReady>

LETTER OF THE DAY - Canadian doctor suggests ... Spike drinking water to reduce violence!
    published: Saturday | February 24, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody j4lQv="true">

The Editor, Sir:

The problem you are having with violence is very fundamental; the lack of opportunity for the poor and youth. You are so far behind in eradicating poverty that the rest of the world is fed up with your effort.

The tax system in your country is a joke; how can you help the poor when you give so many tax incentives to business? Business is supposed to pay fair taxes so that the Government can build schools, provide health care and safety for the people, better roads and clean water.

The leaders are impotent in providing proper direction or leadership to the country. Maybe they should beg one of the developed countries to take Jamaica over and fix the problems. God blessed the country with good climate, excellent soil and a small population. It is a shame that you cannot get your house in order. Give the country to people who have the skills and empathy to make things happen. Barbados could give you a lesson in basic decency and how to run a country, free of corruption and pride in self and country.

Finally, thegovernment should look at spiking the drinking water with valium to make the people less aggressive and this will reduce the level of violence. A few years ago, WHO (World Health Organization) was thinking of adding some form of sedative to the water in Lebanon to reduce the level of violence. Maybe the Government of Jamaica could request the help of WHO in running an experiment with the addition of a sedative in the water system.

Think about it, this could save you billions of dollars in law enforcement and productivity would increase, the level of education and skills would increase, in that the youth would become less defiant and come to their senses about the value of an education. Also, the current crop of politicians would be less aggressive and more productive.

If the experiment is successful, we can then work on a new medication for honesty and punctuality.

I am, etc.,

Dr. BERT BARR

(A real doctor from an accredited university)

drbert84@hotmail.com

21 Boxhill Crescent

Toronto, Ontario, M4B 3R6

Canada</DIV></DIV>

RE: Canadian doctor suggests ... Spike drinking water to reduce violence!

Mdmex,

Where was this published? I just did a quick mapquest search and didn't find a Boxhill Cr in Toronto. Any links to Crenston here? Anyway, my feeling is that any ethical Dr would never advocate giving a prescription to anybody in the manner described. What about effects on infants, elderly etc. Pure rubbish!

Whoever published this is just giving the crackpots satisfaction of seeig their foolishness being in print. Ifa JA paper printed this them need to vet what they want to print more carefully.

On the other hand, maybe big brother ain't too far from becoming reality.

pr

Peter R, my take is that: desperate situations require desperate measure for remedy.

I am sure you detectedan air of disgust in the Dr's letter.

I think (at the end), he tossed the spiking of drinking water in to amplify the fact that Jamaica is at a point of no return.

There would be several problems with this:

a) Possible lawsuits resulting from deaths or serious injuries due to allergies/cross sensitivities

b) Valium is not only a prescription med, it is also a controlled drug

c) Which ministry's budget would be dipped into to fund such a draconian move?

d) what would be the parameters?

Overall, I think the idea is rediculous. But who knows, I could probably look into this and somehow find some merits.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011