New Guy sight Di Rake: Digital Yard tuh di Werl!!

• New Guy sight Di Rake: Digital Yard tuh di Werl!!

.... unless is juss more politician word sound .... wi haffi tes im

Technology Can Level Playing Field For Students - Robinson

Published: Monday | January 23, 20120 Comments

Julian Robinson, minister of state in the Ministry of Mining, Energy and Information Communication Technology, has said Jamaica's educational system bore similarities to an apartheid system.

"We have to find a way in the country to level the playing field, because it can't be that the circumstances of where you were born, and where you were raised, allows you to end up in a particular type of school ... and you end up with a second-rate education," Robinson said last week during the science and technology workshop organised by the Mutual Building Societies Foundation (MBSF), under its Centres of Excellence programme.

"The use of technology is one way of levelling the playing field. The kid from the inner city, who has access to technology and can go online and do research, can be on par, certainly in terms of access, with the more affluent student. That is clearly what we have to do as a Government," Robinson told teachers from the six rural-based Centres of Excellence schools at the function, which was held at Christar Villas hotel, St Andrew.

The state minister said technology will help prepare students for the future; and, therefore, schools should ensure that students, particularly those from lower socio-economic groups, are equipped with the confidence and skills to use the technology.

He revealed that the Government will be introducing new technologies in classrooms, under the e-Learning programme, and said, "Investing in Information Communication Technologies (ICT) is the most important thing Jamaica can do at this time".

Robinson proposed that students should be trained to "become innovators rather than mere manipulators of technology," and he urged teachers to use the technology efficiently, to enhance learning in the classroom.

Meanwhile, Peter Reid, senior vice-president and chief operations officer at Victoria Mutual Building Society (VMBS), said science and technology is the foundation on which the Jamaican economy will grow. As such, he noted that more has to be done to promote a culture of science and innovation.

Similarly, Wendell Smith, assistant general manager, management information, systems and operations at JNBS, welcomed the focus on science and technology, and pointed to Jamaica National's consistent investment in modern technology to enhance its savings and loan services.

The MBSF, conceived by VMBS and JNBS in 2008, rolled out some $100 million to fund the Centres of Excellence initiative. The transformation process has positively impacted the educational output of six rural-based high schools during the last four-year period.

The E-learning project is not a bad start but it has not got the press I think it deserves. A lot of schools have received equipment and training from it including my high school, but it is still in its infancy in terms of what it could accomplish. I had an opportunity to speak with the CEO of e-ljam last August and learn more about what they are trying to do and thier plans. i is worth keeping an eye on what they are doing.

I expect continuity because I think it was originally a Paulwell project from the previous PNP govt.

http://www.e-ljam.net/ is the site.

The E-learning project is not a bad start but it has not got the press I think it deserves. A lot of schools have received equipment and training from it including my high school, but it is still in its infancy in terms of what it could accomplish. I had an opportunity to speak with the CEO of e-ljam last August and learn more about what they are trying to do and thier plans. i is worth keeping an eye on what they are doing.

I expect continuity because I think it was originally a Paulwell project from the previous PNP govt.

http://www.e-ljam.net/ is the site.
      Yes I know them & their mission well...you spoke with Avril Crawford? They're funded off budget by a cess on long distance traffic..billed to US carriers...sweet! Caused a big casscass wid AT&T & FCC etc back in di day. I guess Paulwell did significant good amidst the foul ups

Had contacted them 2 years ago and was assigned someone...but it was premature.... lots of mixed signals and mixed messages on both sides.... a stillborn baby

The way things are going...E-Learning might be worth anedda look see in a month or three doh
      Last edited by Don1; January 23, 2012, 08:08 AM.

Yeah spoke with Avril.

cool..