Beeps! Beeps! All aboard the Eyelash Express!!!

Well SkengD say is for goodwill. That SOUNDS nice but it is not a practical plan on a macro scale.

I have been about 50-50 with Sistah P so far. Early days yet.

Well, I support that part of it 100%.

Me nuh support nor believe in "opening a store so you can employ some people".

thats why it name EMERGENCY EMPLOY .................short term STIMULUS

For the record there are a number things Obama believes in politically that I do not support. In fact I am very skeptical about how much the stimulus package helped, both the tax breaks as well as the Keynesian-style spending.

If you think I am an Obama-fanatic you totally wrong. On social policies I am generally with him but he is much more of a believer in big government solutions than i am.

no...... thats good

if the businesses can do that

yuh nuh think it is a good idea(TO TRAIN HER)

BUT REMEMBER THAT SHE NEED MONEY now TO SUPPORT HER FAMILY

HOW U WOULD DEAL WITH THAT???

OK...

Sigh. You mek it sound like because it is a Short Term stimulus plan means that however it is implemented is OK. Not so my friend.

OK......how should it be implemented?

Well SkengD say is for goodwill. That SOUNDS nice but it is not a practical plan on a macro scale.

I have been about 50-50 with Sistah P so far. Early days yet.
                    Pulling your legs...

...but I implore you give Sistah P a chance, you may be astonished at the rate of 'fast forward' to 'take-off' of our beloved JA which has been in the 'poised for take-off' mode for ever so long!

Who, the government or the business? They are 2 different entities boss, they have different roles in macroeconomics.

My basic point is that asking businesses to employ people for goodwill reasons is an unworkable idea at the macro level. A very few may but most will not, and i am sure Portia knows this. It is more of a PR thing as Willi says.

After I finish my "How not to make stupid posts" series I will move on to a series in basic macro-economics.

Well, she has her chance now!

Wait for the macro-economic learning series ....coming soon!

most will not

cuz them mean

everything not in the books.............sometime you just have have heart n use COMMON SENSE

some cannot afford it but some can

THE WASHER LADY EXAMPLE................mi woulda employ her until things get better OR help support her children while paying for her training(which one I can afford)

Steeuuuups, talk is cheap.

It is the heights of folly fi go buy washing machine and then tun round hire washer woman. Economy caan run suh. Mine is drunk yuh drunk.

If you wanted a workable analogy, you woulda better off saying that that you woulda hire a house cleaning lady and low di washer woman to be hired by peeps without a machine. Basic efficiency is needed in an economy.

BTW, wahy is the GOAL of bizniz? Basic question we need to understand fuss.

Now helping the lady financially would be a personal act of charity, nothing to do with the economy per se...unless yuh a look tax break. LoL

What Portia is doing is a bit of Moral Suasion (PR) campaign that have a feel good impact and does not hurt, BUT it is no substitute for Guvvamant pallicy!

Over and out!

Some would say it is "mean" , but some would say it is business.

There are nuff people in manufacturing would prefer not to outsource some of thier jobs to China, but if them don't do it and the factory next door still do it den you same one go inna the store and buy the cheaper China product and don't give a damn bout where it mek, what then? You get me? It not as simple as who mean and who nuh mean on a personal level.

On an individual level yes it might make sense, on a macro level it just nuh really work so.