• Civil rights in Chile: Maid refuses to get on bus

Civil rights in Chile: Maid refuses to get on bus
    Sunday, January 22, 2012

CHICUREO, Chile (AP) — Felicita Pinto arrived early at the gates of the luxurious community where she labours as a maid, but the minibus to her employer's home was late. So she decided to walk six blocks to work, on streets lined with broad lawns and imposing homes.
    Security guards quickly chased her down and forced the 57-year-old widow back to the gate. Pinto's employer protested, as he had before, against the community bylaws that forbid servants to move at will.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1kD8JFaDq

Makes you wonder about neighbouring countries, like Uruguay. Never going to buy Suarez' "negrito" as some term of endearment!

You buy Evra South American?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don't have to. Suarez never denied his negrito!

O.K brown man.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Liverpool support trumps afrocentric beliefs everytime. LOL.

Mo you are clutching at straws in order to paint Suarez as a racist... the only difference with this gated community and others is forcing labourers to Bus it. In jamaica I couldnt get into certain communities that some years ago I could have (an mi is a high brown man) to show my kids where some friends used to live etc etc

Is she being discriminated because of her colour or because of her job status? lets compare apples to apples... this kind of class discrimination you should be familiar with in JA... black gains black!

I don't see what's wrong with mandating that the staff travel to and from the gate by minibus...

what a waste of a post! this comes as no surprise to anyone, Bricks!

Yes, but this class discrimination (in Ja) has its roots in racism and slavery. Some helpers in Ja are treated in a sub human manner. They prepare the food and cannot eat any of it. The half has not been told of what is going on in JA. These people remain quiet because they want to hold on to their jobs.

Yuh tink ah ah accident why Portia win so big? Walk an tal wid the common people of JA and you will hear some stories. Forget about those blacks that find themselves earning a small income above average in JA. These balcks tend to treat workers worse than the so called whites in Ja.

They don't want the hired help walking through the neighbourhood...where exactly is the racism/classism in that? And if they had them walking instead of having a bus for them yuh would say the same thing...what is it you all have against people who work and become rich? unnuh born wit badmind?

Civil rights? You have to be joking? It's a civil right to be able to walk on private property? hahahahaahahahahahahahahah comedy act...

She isn't being discriminated against at all...rules of the workplace...no employees can walk in the common areas...simple...what is so draconian bout that...

In jamaica I couldnt get into certain communities that some years ago I could have (an mi is a high brown man) to show my kids where some friends used to live etc etc
                            !
                            Free Papah Pass Bun?? Chawklit Tea wi seh!!

Why is this in the newsletter ?!

ah wheh di.. !?

Look like people nuh realize wha clock a strike.. what is chile GDP ?

Felicita can tek Air Chile come yah.. she can walk all bout yah suh.. all squat right next to har employer if she want..

Bet she nuh come..