Minister of Youth & Culture Lisa Hanna visited KC today and had a conversation with students.
Minister Hanna Visits KC
Its funny how when Ed Bartlett visit the airport as tourism minster we flogged him to say he loves media opp and photo opp. I mean i like looking at lisa and lisa in general but the purpose of the visit and substance is what? Politicians are what they are
come on oj... she is a youth minister... she has to get close to the youths and understand what concerns and interests them... any opportunity to learn from the youths... i expect her to be making the rounds in various places where the youths are to be found... kc or any school is as good a place to start... i think she has one of the most difficult jobs, simple as it seems... jamaica has a high percentage of youths in the population...
she is going to have to make decisons on where to channel resources to make a difference in the lives of youths which will benefit the country...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Lets give her a bly and see how her outreach to the youths is progressing. I do not know if the event was covered by the media, or if they were notified about her presence at KC. Granted we are all skeptical of Ja politicians, but she is not a career politician, nor does she come with a lot of political "baggage".Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
after reading about her appearance at kc... one concern i have with this youth & culture ministry... willi should like this... youth and culture should fall under the education ministry... here is a case for consolidation... the challenges and resolutions for the youth & culture minister are within the educational sphere... vocational training, performing arts school, cultural development and enlightenment are mostly educational... the minister needs to start thinking beyond tourism and entertainment... she needs to spearhead a broader discussion...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
I keep hearing this talk about hard portfolio and difficult job. LoL
This portfolio is fluff and has zero resources to solve anything. Whofah resources she aggo expropriate for channel anywhere?
She get basket fi carry water!
This is why Superministries are needed. Like mini-CEOs they can drive change with resources and authority of office. Each Minister should be the PM in waiting.
Jamaica has from long ago turned the Cabinet into a free for all patronage.
All need to be supahminnistah!
If we are serious about DRIVING Change....
For too long its too many cooks!
Yuh did think seh mi was a try criticize or undermine...dont know why...causen I have consistently said that our backs are against the wall and we have to find SOME way to get outta di rut.
Do you REALLY think I care who gets us to the promised lasnd??? I dont care how we get ther...just get there if you can! Ah Jamaica mi a defend!
Not time for making cases or some kinda incremental changes thru a likkle tinkering here and there.
We need radical paradigm shifts. Jamaica is a perfect turnaround case where sound business principles need to meet political savvy and inspirational leaderhip. All dat need to wash down with a powerful vision and a willingness to compromise for the future good.
Originally posted by OJ View Postagreed but I am drawing reference to the disposition of some who said Ed should not visit the AirPort... uhmm i guess he was not the Tourism minister. just making a point...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'