Graham Mango

• Graham Mango

Only folks who live in the Western part of jamaica should be familiar with this variety of mango.

If someone say it is tastier than East Indian or Julie...I would not debate it.

The headquarters for Graham Mango ( I think) is in the Little London /Delfland(sp?) area in Westmoreland.

Have not had one of this type mango in over 30 years.

You are very wrong....know it well... not from the west...mango overated.

I think there is a 'version' of Graham mango in T&T.
      Differen version from the one in the West.

wha mek yu stay suh? Exile is a country man and knows mango..

Mi no know whe him a tell bout TT mango fah....bout mango come from west...

Have you ever had a Robin?

Of course! A sweet mango...smallish...yellow with lots of red...

Graham (mango)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
                Jump to: navigation, search
                Mangifera Indica 'Graham' Details Cultivar 'Graham' Origin Trinidad from 'Julie' seed. The 'Graham' mango is a named mango cultivar which originated in Trinidad.
                Contents

[hide] [edit] History

'Graham' was a seedling of the 'Julie' mango planted in Trinidad.[1] In 1932 the variety was introduced to the United States by the USDA through Florida.
                'Graham' has become a popular nursery stock tree in Florida for home growing due to its fine flavor and good disease resistance. It was selected as a curator's choice mango for Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden's 2008 mango festival.[2] The fruit is also popular in the Windward Islands.
                'Graham' trees are now planted in the USDA's germplasm repository in Miami, Florida.[3], the University of Florida's Tropical Research and Education Center in Homestead, Florida[4], and the Miami-Dade Fruit and Spice Park[5], also in Homestead.
                [edit] Description

Display of unripe Graham mangoes at the Tropical Agricultural Fiesta in the Fruit and Spice Park in Homestead, Florida.

The fruit is of oval shape, with a rounded apex that sometimes contains a small lateral beak. The skin is yellow at maturity, and is bumpy and undulating. The flesh is orange, fiberless, and has a rich and aromatic flavor. The fruit contains a monoembryonic seed, and typically matures from June to August in Florida[6].
                Unlike its parent 'Julie', 'Graham' is a vigorous grower that reaches over 20 feet in height and forms a round, dense canopy.

You must try some Clarendon 'Millie' mango....bright yellow on the inside, stringy, starchy, sweeeet...thickish skin... and then we have one e call 'fine skin' - green when ripe, as the name suggest very thin skin, bright orange flesh, thin strings...sweet with a nice flavour.

Nah man,

I grew up with teh South African Graham in Spain Town.

It was grafted onto a Stringy tree with Bombay, East Indian and St Julian.

Now the tree is 90% Graham and 10% Julie. The rest died off.

Overrated?

Graham ah big time mango!
                      Up there with Bombay and Julie.

Beats East Indian and thrashes stringy, blackie, Heiden, Turpentine, pig mango, etc.

Stringy and starchy nuh sound promising.

..the flavour...the taste...unique....

Yuh mek mi mout watah!!!
                            Dem deh mango sweet bad...

mi nuh kno de origin of most mango but mi like de graham mango... had one a few years back... bought it in ochi... big, meaty and sweet... afta mi eat it, mi wish mi did buy two more...

my favorite mango remains julie... around two years ago i bought a mango from a chiney man dung a ny chinatown... it rival mi julie... it was yellow and round... all sweet, juicy meat and the seed was flat, quarter inch or less but certainly not more... would like to know more about that mango...

edit: the seed was almost like cardboard... extremely thin...