vybz kartel

• vybz kartel

The police have seized a number of assets belonging to popular entertainer Vybz Kartel under the Proceeds of Crime Act including his S-Class Mercedes Benz which has an estimated value of over $20 million, a laptop containing his work, and other documents believed to be linked to properties owned by him.

According to a CVM News report the Mercedes Benz was seized shortly after the entertainer was arrested in 2011 and is being stored at the Police Commissioner's office in St. Andrew. Vybz Kartel made famous his Mercedes Benz motor-vehicle in December 2010, on the S-Class riddim with his single 'Jump inna d Benz' which was a remake of DJ Grindsman 1990's single "Benz P*****y".

source

Just a ask, how can you seize property without him being convicted of a crime? Different standard for ghetto youth?

CVM actually mentioned the words Benz P****y?!? Ratings mussi low!

dunno........but the word "punany" or "punani" is not a "bad word"

They explained that on the news...some newish law where anybody's property can be seized and they have to prove how they came by it...forensic audit based on your lifestyle...a little draconian if you ask me...

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
            dunno........but the word "punany" or "punani" is not a "bad word"
            It's a damned good word!! Punany tuh di Werl!!

No tears here Hortical. They seized it, they never disposed if it. I would think they sure can. The ghetto-card is very attractive, but kinda spent and probably wont get much currency outside the narrow criminal ghetto world and the admirers of such activities.

They cannot dispose of any property seized unless they can prove it came from illicit means...there is a time limit that when expires the property has to be returned...this is a ploy by the authorities to stop Kartel from selling the assets to cover legal fees...

I am only concerned with a due process and it should be the same for people who some of us may despise, and those we wish to emulate as outstanding individuals.

I am of the opinion that he is represented by counsel and as far as I know he has not complained about the quality of his representation.

Why is that draconian. Dont your tax invoices give an idea of what your earnings are?. Unexplained income is fair game or property purchased from unexplained income is always fair game.

You might be right. There might well be a different standard, but are you arguing that they should lower the standard of enforcement for ghetto youths, or should they intensify the persuit of the so-called white collar haberdashers/criminals/ponzi schemers?. I would agree with you if you propose the later and reject the former.

Agreed. I don't know why we cannot use tax evasion to put away some of these guys for a while if nothing else will stick.

Some of the most notorious American criminals were put away that way.

Becareful Reggae doc.. you cant agree with the law some of the time. The man is innocent til proven otherwise... how comes they dont freeze the m6 dude assets?

This is not the tax department...that's why...the state can seize property for any reason they want and hold it for x amount of time...with no burden of proof...