• Taxi driver, woman murdered in Mandeville

Taxi driver, woman murdered in Mandeville

Published: Saturday December 31, 2011 | 10:02 am 0 Comments

People gathered at the scene in Mandeville where a taxi driver and a woman were shot and killed last night. (Dave Lindo/Photographer).

Dave Lindo, Gleaner Writer

A taxi driver and a woman were shot dead in Waltham, Mandeville, Manchester last night.

They had just arrived from the Norman Manley International Airport when they were pounced on by gunmen and killed.

According to reports, the taxi driver was chartered to pick up the woman at the airport.

The friend of the woman who was also a passenger of the vehicle was unharmed. (How she so lucky, authorities need to question her.)

The Mandeville police responded to the call at 8:25 p.m and when they arrived on the scene they saw the driver and the woman on the ground in blood.

The two were pronounced dead at hospital.

Their names have been withheld pending further investigation.

editorial@gleanerjm.com

Madness!

There was a criminal gang of police officers that used to stake out persons arriving from overseas at the airport, and they would frequently rob and/or kill them. Tragic...

From a bulletin board
      A lot of Jamaicans would like to come home, but they are afraid because of situations like this, myself included. A lot of Jamaicans need to get out of the mentality that their fellow brothers and sisters overseas are bathing in money, which is far from the truth. A tip about foreign living. Foreign 101.
      1. Banana, plantain, orange, and other fruits and vegetable are sold by the pound.
      2. Nobody gives away anything, everything that we want, we have to buy
      3. A lot of us work 2 and 3 jobs to succeed
      4. To get around in the snow, to out many jobs we buy a good car, again through loan
      5. We have big mortgages, while many Jamaican have a house that is debt free
      6. We try to help sister, brother, auntie, friend, neighbor etc. even though we have countless bills
      7. Sometimes we even go as far as giving money start small businesses, only to hear that the money is done and there is no business
      8. We overseas work hard, and it is time for us to enjoy a little of it, money do not grow on neither is it growing on trees
      9. For heaven sake, leave us alone when we come to Jamaica, do not kill us or beg us.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        9. For heaven sake, leave us alone when we come to Jamaica, do not kill us or beg us.
        Can't promise dat di begging gwine stop, but the killing MUST STOP! Bunting, please make sure that whatever guns we already have in Jamaica, and we know dem nuff, nuh more come in to add to di mayhem. And start going after those that are here in earnest and with a quickness!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          There was a criminal gang of police officers that used to stake out persons arriving from overseas at the airport, and they would frequently rob and/or kill them. Tragic...

From a bulletin board
          A lot of Jamaicans would like to come home, but they are afraid because of situations like this, myself included. A lot of Jamaicans need to get out of the mentality that their fellow brothers and sisters overseas are bathing in money, which is far from the truth. A tip about foreign living. Foreign 101.
          1. Banana, plantain, orange, and other fruits and vegetable are sold by the pound.
          2. Nobody gives away anything, everything that we want, we have to buy
          3. A lot of us work 2 and 3 jobs to succeed
          4. To get around in the snow, to out many jobs we buy a good car, again through loan
          5. We have big mortgages, while many Jamaican have a house that is debt free
          6. We try to help sister, brother, auntie, friend, neighbor etc. even though we have countless bills
          7. Sometimes we even go as far as giving money start small businesses, only to hear that the money is done and there is no business
          8. We overseas work hard, and it is time for us to enjoy a little of it, money do not grow on neither is it growing on trees

#10 - Do not KIDNAP us

The Shower Posse flourished under the PNP for 18 years. Can we get assurances that a Don associated with a gang will not receive gov't contracts?

Tell that crap to someone else!!!

It flourished because of continued protection from JLP leaders!

Yes, the JLP leadership enabled the gang. But the PNP who ran the country for 18 years is just as responsible for the murders in Jamaica. Saying the killing must stop is simplistic!

And you are right! They should have arrested all those leaders who stood in the way when the security forces were going in!

You are so right!