Brigadistas all over again?

But dem use to fight it fram dem time deh!

This is what is wrong with Ja. There are those on the island that is bent on keeping the people in a system of slavery and a state of dependence. Now because Nanny P had to work for everything she has accomplished, she is making sure her MPs work. Lisa is no different she has to find solutions to the problem of youth joining gangs and engaging in criminal activities. Lisa cannot sit around taking pictures , attending lavish functions and smiling.

Lisa's boss need answers. Here is Lisa seeking out solutions; in order that our young men don't sit on the corners waiting to be manipulated.You here the talk of communism surfacing. These are modern times, hence it's very easy to detect which quarter this silly talk springs.

I have two words for this: Gwaan Lisa!!!

Same so

What was your stance on the JLP and China ? you have matured in not even a month since the election was called.

Would it be fair to label you a hypocryte ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What are you talking about? My position on Ja's relationship with China relative to the US remains unchanged. JDIP was existing prior to the 2011 election which means the PNP or anyone that wins must speak to the Chinese.

You don't seem to fully grasp regional politics.

I grasp (politics)the hypocrysy quite well and you do too.

The term is justified.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...one would think...she should leave?!
                  Forgive...but lovingly leave is an option...possible good option?!

Right?
                  Karl - you know not whom we speak about. Let's leave it at that!

Nonsense.

Golding himself had to reverse positions on Cuba and Venezuela.

Who can talk about communism when both parties engage and indeed defend Cuba? Time have changed long ago and that wont be on any credible agenda.

Right now, any port in a storm, any help is welcome.

Not quite;some began to use Lisa's initiative as means to communism. Check the gleaner you will see talk about home guard, micro dams (something Ja would do well with right now).

BTW what do you think about micro dams, should it be re-explored? Given Ja's size and its inability store and distribute water to all sectors of the island. Taking into consideration the many springs and wells on the island. Thanks.

All ports in a storm!!!

U understand di crisis we are in?

All ideas need to contend and we need to get even more creative in this lull period.

As long as dem can control maskitto, the micro dams have a part to play. We haffi get better at maintenance though.

Jamaica loves to build and forget, as if upkeep happens by itself.
                        Last edited by Willi; January 16, 2012, 11:15 AM.

Your last sentence is key and true. In the states a good 70% is maintenance.

I think why Ja "builds and forget" is the lack of an economic closed loop. In the sense of capturing recycling earnings from it's industry across the island. One of the big reason the island is stuck in third world mode. The economic windfall would drive building blocks such as health care and education.

America is lousy with maintenance as a fuss wirl country.

Yuh fi see how dem drop it over here. Dem love dig up a road and shut down brigde, especially as soon as the seasons change and likkle sun poke out. Bare badwud man a cuss a lot of the time. Worse, dem put it back together in the same functional drab state, as it nothing happened at all. Dem not into di crissas shiny spanking new thing at all. If you left for a month and returned, you would not have a clue that anything changed.

The yanks living here are constantly amazed.

Yuh need fi move roun merica more. Yuh talking where yuh live or Europe on a whole? It's okay let's just focus an Ja right now. Without earnings circulating throughout the whole population all plans are doomed, maintenance would be very low and progress but a fleeting illusion.

Maybe, I really frequent the Nth East Corridor of the US and ocassional Calif.

I have been to Fla, Phoenix, Vegas and Seattle otherwise.

The infrastructure in the US, except for certain suburban developments (Malls, etc) seems to be in decay. The highways are often in a poor state.

In comparison, Switzerland, Benelux, Scandi, France and Austria/Germany is much better. Italy is clearly a step down, with Spain being a bit better than Italy, but also newer, so its hard to tell. French Highways are crisser than Germany, as they are EXPENSIVE and people have to use them to go south. Think Bougyes in Hwy2000, as that runs the cut in France! France also has impressive transport linkages in most places, with hub and spoke via Paris.

In Geneva, there is a MASSIVE exposition Hall system at the airport linked with buses and the Train, and the highway runs under a part of it.. It is also on the border with France, so there is a French domestic side. They have so much parking that you have to walk more than a mile from the furthest spots to the nearest terminal. A marvel of multi-modal, I have to say. For the last year it has not been easy to drive there as they busy repairing/expanding like bees.