$10,000 frying pan????????

Bought some coconut oil from the Dekalb Farmers' Market recently. The flavor is absolutely fantastic.

It is a highly saturated (plant) oil that is good for you. Zero cholesterol. (Duh HL...the forum already know that plants do not contain cholesterol).

I read about the good good attributes of coconut-oil in the Journal of Clinical Nutrition way back in the 80's.

Margarine type oils are very bad because of their degree of hydrogenation. Much worse than butter as you pointed out Willi.

Coconut oil is the best for high temp cooking, by far!
      willi, i was adressing specifically that which is in bold type... i see where you have added some caveat in this post...

i too have done the research and have come to the conclusion that coconut oil is much more beneficial than we were led to believe...

however, if we are talking about high temp cooking (and high is relative) then its a totally different argument... factually, coconut oil has a lower smoke point than canola oil, peanut oil and i believe extra light olive oil to name a few... i will not belabor the point since there are so many variables to be explored...

If it says "margarine", RUN, run fast and far!

Olive oil is probably the worst for high temperatures. Burns very easily and loses all its good qualities.

cant agree with the the entirety of that statement... there are different kinds of olive oils... light olive oil will withstand very high temp before it burns... and almost all oils will lose some of their qualities at high temps... it all depends on the type used for what purpose...

a lazy sickko lazy and nuh want fi scour nuh pot... lol... yuh nuh si him a look pon teflon pot...

What about using some a di "hile" inna yuh back.......every time me see a pitcha a yuh, yuh face a shine like seh yuh dawb up a tub a vaseline pon it..................

Mo yuh know seh a chubble me a chubble yuh.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sickko just a gwaan "high-folluted" cause him have visa fi tek plane.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

ok. maybe i have been using the extra virgin. (figures!)

because that one burns very quickly, just from experience.

I read a 500 page book about this and am in contact with some of the best fat experts in the world. I also follow Dr Weston Pryce's work.

Using the knowledge I counselled a pal in Florida who was deeply diabetic and in a year his condition reversed, so much so that his doctor is stunned.

I have shared this info with 2 PhDs medical guys at my old company and my new one and they quietly agree and add to their diet.

Just the facts. I wont say more....

Olive oil is neutral (Omega 9)....not "good". Inferior to cononut oil.

All are inferior to cold pressed fresh unadulterated omega 3 and 6.

The 6 and 9 (hydrophilic and lipo-philic) are also very essential to the immune system (component of leucocytes and lympohocytes), intracellluar oxygen transport to the mitochondrion, components of intracellular "hormones" like thrombaxanes, eicosinoids, and prostaglandins. They are needed for the proper makeup of cell membranes to allow oxygen to pass thru into the cell cytoplasm and cascade deep in the cell and also to form the proper receptors in the membrane for hormones like insulin (diabetes).

Breakdown products (derivatives) of the 6 and 9 have critcal functions in the body. Arachidonic acid is pro-infammatory BUT is the most powerful blood thinner in existence, GLA also has critical functions. Omega 3 breakdowns (EPA/DHA. etc) tend to balance out and counter the Omega 6 derivatives and they work in a beautiful synergy and explains why you need to consume BOTH. Sometimes the lack of enzymes like the Delta 5 and 6 desaturase enzymes mean that we have problems making derivates and that is why some oil supplements provide GLA along with the parent oils. Too much derivatives is also bad as the Pharmacological overload can depress the immune system. That is why fish oil supplements dont work and is actually bad (EPA and DHA rather than ALA, the parent oil found in linseed).

Fresh butter has some factor in it that some believe is effective against MS. Cat swear about this though, bust as there is no cure, its worth a shot.

Anyway, that is enuff for now.
                      Last edited by Willi; January 13, 2012, 06:46 PM.

Thanks!

Oils are unavoidable so it's good to know what to use.

Canola oil is new and its hybrid (no real knowledge of how this machine oil designed product will do to human health long term, even in virgin unadulterated form), high in omega 6 and 3, polyunsats. If you find them on supermarket shelves they are already DEAD, killed by bleaching, high temp/pressure and deoderization. So they are already toxic from the start...you should see the waste product from this processing, it would make your stomach turn. This is done to extend shelf life, but ends up shortening CONSUMER lives. These Supermarket oils are essentially equivalent to margarine, which is just killed in another way (hydrogenation)

Virgin cold pressed Canola oil CANNOT be used for high temp as it will be killed and the point of buying it would be obviated.

Now if you are talking about technical aspects of cooking like smoke point and not concerned about health, then I can accept what you say. When I said best, I meant after giving health considerations PRIMACY.

Omega 3 and 6 are called essential fatty acids because the body cant make them and we need to ingest them regularly for optimal health.

These fats are a MUST, and people are just waking up to the fact. Memba why Grandma used to have these things delivered daily along with the farmers cows milk?

www.lifesavingfats.com
                            www.professornutrition.com
                            www.brianpeskin.com (you will see the cancer implication here)

Man like Dr. Horrobin was a real pioneer here. Paul Beatty in Canada keeps the flag flying high.

http://www.nutrition.org/asn-blog/2009/07/coconut-oil/

Back at cha:

http://www.westonaprice.org/search/search?q=coconut