Cabinet Size Matters

• Cabinet Size Matters

Last Friday, a 20-person Cabinet was revealed by the Portia Simpson Miller administration. The size of a Cabinet ought to be determined by the number of persons it will take to get the job done effectively and efficiently.

Based on a December 2011 Bill Johnson poll, the economy ('unemployment', 'poverty', 'no money', and 'economic crisis') and crime would be the major tasks of the Cabinet.

In compiling a Cabinet, the prime minister would have to base it on the 7 Cs: competence (the ability to get the job done); character (being honest and just in all dealings); courage (willingness to take tough decisions in the interest of the country); compassion (ability to feel people's pain and be moved to alleviate that pain); chemistry (the person ought to be a team player); commitment (loyalty to the cause); and, finally, constituency (representatives from different gender, region, power blocs and age). It is, therefore, a most difficult job to select a Cabinet.

The size of the Cabinet has cost implications, and the determinants of costs ought to be based on the importance of the work, the competencies of the employees, the expected standard of living of the employees, and the ability to pay.

It should be remembered that in both the public and private sectors, the wage bill is approximately 60 per cent of total expenditure; and in the private sector, some senior executives earn $20 million annually, and for a few that could just be the bonus.

cont....@ http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html

$20 million annually, and for a few that could just be the bonus
    and when mi talk some people think JOKE mi a mek

Read what he says about credibility at the end of the article!

Nobody said it was a joke.

I do indeed know and said that is why Jamaica is in problems and dem a vultcha. You dont like red everything I see! Go back to the original thread and see.

mi seh some people.............WHY U TEK IT PAN U HEAD?

"Nobody"

go see the answer them mi get when mi 1st raise it.....

My bad then.

I thought this was just between you and me....

No probs fi tek back chat. LoL

Cause we had a long back and forth over this...