• Tivoli Gets Smart-er

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=34484

Nice story but the smartboard is the kind of equipment that makes me wonder about repair and maintenance issues. I hope them budget to deal with that and nuh just use chalk pon the board if it pop down.

I wish me bredren Assasin would come back pon the forum to discuss these things.

Nice story but the smartboard is the kind of equipment that makes me wonder about repair and maintenance issues. I hope them budget to deal with that and nuh just use chalk pon the board if it pop down.

I wish me bredren Assasin would come back pon the forum to discuss these things.
      yep technology has it's downside... but more importantly...

Sass how yuh juss leff wi suh?

Him soon get company....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          Him soon get company....
          yuh ah leff tuh?? say it aint so

Based on the work I did with a pilot project on these boards, I tested the smart, Promethean and another I can't remember in 2007. The third one was out early. Smart board was a bit more reliable as Promethean requires constant updates and updates normally broke other things. The promethean needed a pen but smart didn't.

The teachers were actually forced to use as many didn't want to use it and these are teachers with Bacholars and masters. Some liked it in the long run but others complained. To install these board they took out traditional blackboards. The support included technical onsite and software onsite support plus we had support for one year with the companies.

After the year I can see problem if the layer behind the screen is broken, as you have to have someone technical to support this or pay a big money to the company.

Also is the use educational or just to show a nice computer screen saver?

The pilot I was on with the school district was called "21 century classroom". In the end the decided to keep their computer in the classrooms and just add projectors and screen. Results were not good enough to justify the spending. it would have been less costly to keep and hire more specialist and other programs.

If you can afford it, it makes an addition to the classroom if properly used but we have to be careful we can maintain it because after 3 years it is certainly going to break and it will need support and training in the intial months

Based on the work I did with a pilot project on these boards, I tested the smart, Promethean and another I can't remember in 2007. The third one was out early. Smart board was a bit more reliable as Promethean requires constant updates and updates normally broke other things. The promethean needed a pen but smart didn't.

The teachers were actually forced to use as many didn't want to use it and these are teachers with Bacholars and masters. Some liked it in the long run but others complained. To install these board they took out traditional blackboards. The support included technical onsite and software onsite support plus we had support for one year with the companies.

After the year I can see problem if the layer behind the screen is broken, as you have to have someone technical to support this or pay a big money to the company.

Also is the use educational or just to show a nice computer screen saver?

The pilot I was on with the school district was called "21 century classroom". In the end the decided to keep their computer in the classrooms and just add projectors and screen. Results were not good enough to justify the spending. it would have been less costly to keep and hire more specialist and other programs.

If you can afford it, it makes an addition to the classroom if properly used but we have to be careful we can maintain it because after 3 years it is certainly going to break and it will need support and training in the intial months
              My Gad... one nex Tome

Good to hear from you Sass. Thanks for sharing that experience. Hope it work out for them still. Maybe Petrojam will help maintain it.

Easy fe talk bout put technology in the schools and tell them have a nice life, but it nuh work so. That is just sowing good seeds on rocky ground.