Sass? Solutions? - MoBay suffers cruise ship arrivals drop

Jamaica appears to be doing "better" largely because of the recent & massive expansion in rooms, airport capacity, attractions and other infrastructural works

Our neighbors did not have that kind of comprehensive upgrade to their tourism product since 2000...and that's where our competitive advantage & momentum is coming from.

Bartlett did a creditable job to maintain a growth momentum...but rumours of his excellence are greatly exaggerated as the really heavy lifting preceded his tenure
    on point...

Jamaica is doing BETTER in tourism than the neighbours.

Tings tough all over. No need to look much further than that

Dont expect miracles going forward without an unlikely sustained global recovery! A rising tide lift all boats, but the opposite is disastrous.
      ...what is happening elsewhere is real...but we cannot concern ourselves with that save to fit that 'reality' into plans to make our 'real' an exception. Voters - any stakeholder in any entity - expect solutions. Those must solve OUR low figures. ...if Sistah P's TEAM cannot move fast forward rapidly step out of our kitchen!

No excuses!

It was known that with Falmouth there was going to be a drop in ships in Mobay and Ochi in the short run. I would like to compare the before stats with the current. The fact is action have to be taken in these towns and if it was not Falmouth then other ports would likely have taken some of the ships.

Corrective measures need to be taken especially in Ochi to continue its success as a tourist town. The people have to do a better job with their environment and the local sellers have to learn to market their wares instead of hastling people. There is a big difference. The town itself have to get together and the Chamber of Commerce, Ochi tourism interst as to get back to been as active as they were in the 80s and 90s. Most of the cruiselines are now partnering with government to have some control over the ports and gurantee passengers. Mobay and Ochi at one stage was going to seek some partnership based on what Barlett has said at one time or another so let us see if they are successful.

Baddaz based on my experience in the industry asking some people on the ground level, they always tell you last year was better but if you ask people in reservation and front office they will differ. I remember that was the case with winter season as they older staff would tell me it was better etc. but when you check the numbers it show different but they seem to remember their best years. Not to say you are wrong as if you remember 2 years ago in 2009 October the airlines and hotels were actually giving vaction away and alot of people jumped on last minute vacation. I remember getting a great deal at Jamaica Grande, told my brother and he book a package within days and so too my sister and a friend, but October, early November is usually a very slow time.

I am concerned about this winter season as the weather is warn up north and the only ads I see on tv is Sandals'. I will listen for the numbers especially those for stop over visitors.

X, I have no fear of Cuban tourism. I think there are nuff ways we can partner with them for advantage of both. I am more worried about Mexican tourism as they try to get over their problems. The Dominican republic has grown but it hasn't stopped us from growing and as long as we continue to offer good attraction mixed with culture and service I think we can achieve a lot.

It was known that with Falmouth there was going to be a drop in ships in Mobay and Ochi in the short run. I would like to compare the before stats with the current. The fact is action have to be taken in these towns and if it was not Falmouth then other ports would likely have taken some of the ships.

Corrective measures need to be taken especially in Ochi to continue its success as a tourist town. The people have to do a better job with their environment and the local sellers have to learn to market their wares instead of hastling people. There is a big difference. The town itself have to get together and the Chamber of Commerce, Ochi tourism interst as to get back to been as active as they were in the 80s and 90s. Most of the cruiselines are now partnering with government to have some control over the ports and gurantee passengers. Mobay and Ochi at one stage was going to seek some partnership based on what Barlett has said at one time or another so let us see if they are successful.

Baddaz based on my experience in the industry asking some people on the ground level, they always tell you last year was better but if you ask people in reservation and front office they will differ. I remember that was the case with winter season as they older staff would tell me it was better etc. but when you check the numbers it show different but they seem to remember their best years. Not to say you are wrong as if you remember 2 years ago in 2009 October the airlines and hotels were actually giving vaction away and alot of people jumped on last minute vacation. I remember getting a great deal at Jamaica Grande, told my brother and he book a package within days and so too my sister and a friend, but October, early November is usually a very slow time.

I am concerned about this winter season as the weather is warn up north and the only ads I see on tv is Sandals'. I will listen for the numbers especially those for stop over visitors.

X, I have no fear of Cuban tourism. I think there are nuff ways we can partner with them for advantage of both. I am more worried about Mexican tourism as they try to get over their problems. The Dominican republic has grown but it hasn't stopped us from growing and as long as we continue to offer good attraction mixed with culture and service I think we can achieve a lot.
          Wow..what an Epistle

Is like yuh did constipated inna yuh absence...and had let it all out at one "sitting"

How many Super liners are on maritime registry worldwide Hortical?. When you say get their act together, you mean like building a pier to accommodate these giant ships, and then do the same for Ochi?. There is only so many ships at sea at any point in time. It has to do with the overall national policy and planning for developing a national tourism product which the entire country can benefit from. BTW those shops on the strip in MoBay selling junk Bob Marley tee shirts and junk tourist beads can always go out of business as far as I am concerned.

Baddaz based on my experience in the industry asking some people on the ground level, they always tell you last year was better but if you ask people in reservation and front office they will differ.
              This is so true in JA, and not just with tourism. Go to an event and people will tell you how "last year" it did sell off or the vibes was better, until the next year comes around and its the same story about "last year".

Our people have a tendency to always say "bwoy things rough" even when they have got better. Businessman never say they are having a good year, its always a struggle.

Thats why even though the man in the street has an important story to tell, you can't go off that alone.

But Baddaz nuh seh di street "empty", so which is it? Massive expansion room fuelling growth or depressed condition falling below former years? The 2 of you are contradictory.

To my mind, to maintain any sort of momentum in such an awful market is downright commendable. Most others took a battering. To talk about massive room expansion means little as empty rooms are possible no matter the room capacity in a less favoured destination. In other words, more empty rooms to lament over. Its not a - build it and they will come scenario. Wykeham better tun up di hype machine and keep em coming.

Part of our floatation ability is the sizable returning diaspora...

Baddaz as tourist!

The massive expansion has meant momentum...in this case 2% or so growth has been maintained. That "growth" is still consistent with empty streets...especially in MoBay which has lost many of the overweight cruisers to Falmouth.

Since there's been no hike in marketing spend (apart from the new properties) there cannot be any really significant other reason than the product upgrade...unless people just liked Mr Ed's Fat-Cheeked Smile

Is our cool factor and "local" tourists.
                    Dat alone good fi 2 %.

I thought were were doing more like 7% though...

We've ALWAYS had that "cool" branding and support from diaspora and locals.. that's not new so cannot explain momentum in an overall downturn imho...but it does help. The big thing that has changed in the past 10 years is the product upgrade

7% would be amazing in any environment...much more this one