Progressive thinking on the debt

And before that people need a solid secondary education so that they are trainable in the first place.

Interestingly though I was listening to a podcast the other day about the manufacturing plants in China...you would be surprised how many of those electonic gadgets are assembled by old-fashioned manual labor. But them can do that because them have the an almost unlimited supply of workers and can work dem fe 120 hours a week and pay them slave wages with no bathroom breaks. Robotics still nuh reach dem level of efficiency yet, LOL.

After me finish listen the program me feel bad fe use me iPhone, nah tell no lie.
    LOL... fi reel dem Chinese nuh easy atall

Which is why we need to move up the value chain...we cannot compete on labour price or energy costs with low level products like garments... now even China is losing out to lower cost producers like Vietnyam

We need to learn to create products using our wizzy and also learn to handle higher value production imho

Yes...primary & secondary education is critical

people first have to be trained in the technologies of modern manufacturing
      well of course... wasn't expecting to set up manufacturing plants wid just hamma, sickle and grindstone... that is a joke... (had to say that cause some peeple start get too serious)...

the central point is modern manfucturing is viable, sustainable and should be explored... there are many many products that could be manufactured in jamaica... our ports and proximity to the north and south american markets make this a real option with the right incentives...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        well of course... wasn't expecting to set up manufacturing plants wid just hamma, sickle and grindstone... that is a joke... (had to say that cause some peeple start get too serious)...

the central point is modern manfucturing is viable, sustainable and should be explored... there are many many products that could be manufactured in jamaica... our ports and proximity to the north and south american markets make this a real option with the right incentives...
        i agree full hundred

we also need to investigate product design...few people in di werl are as naturally creative as Jamaicans... that's something we would beat the pants off Chinese people with

Di yutes juss need di vision from dem leaders and the right platform to play on

a real effort need to be made to court some of these companies who are manufacturing in china and asia to bring some of that to jamaica... when transport costs (fuel & port charges, insurance) are factored, in some instances it may be viable... afterall, we no longer have pirates in the caribbean...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            a real effort need to be made to court some of these companies who are manufacturing in china and asia to bring some of that to jamaica... when transport costs (fuel & port charges, insurance) are factored, in some instances it may be viable... afterall, we no longer have pirates in the caribbean...
            Agreed....But we do have Pirates of the Caribbean...they're called Americans, British, Canadians, Europeans, Chinese etc