• Progressive thinking on the debt

1) Legalise a herb for medicinal use

2)Legalise dispensaries in the Island $50.00 a year(to be renewed annually)
    Dispensaries only have to show that they can produce a pound of ganja, in other words you can grow it in your backyard.

3,000,000million people * 50 us =150,000,000 us =12,750,000,000 JMD profit no tax
    Tax on registration would be lets say 5%.

a)Revenue from yearly registration
    b)Revenue from tax.

(even if a third of the population apply for registration thats is real money)

3)Revenue from agricultural purchase of materials to harvest ganja , plus tax

Revenue from sale for Ganja ?
    1a) Local
    2b) Forgein

We could multiply the registration fee * 4 to see the revenue gained.That is astronomical.

Ganja economics, laugh at it , mock it , scorn it , but dont deny it is not a viable alternative or solution to our economic mess.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Any port in a storm.

Cant rule out any remedy just cause of sentimentality...

1) Legalise a herb for medicinal use

Dispensaries only have to show that they can produce a pound of ganja, in other words you can grow it in your backyard.

3,000,000million people * 50 us =150,000,000 us =12,750,000,000 JMD profit no tax

b)Revenue from tax.

1a) Local
      2b) Forgein

We could multiply the registration fee * 4 to see the revenue gained.That is astronomical.

Ganja economics, laugh at it , mock it , scorn it , but dont deny it is not a viable alternative or solution to our economic mess.

X, how yuh arrive at 3M ppl?

Isnt that our population number ? if not I stand corrected but Like I said if even a third of that ....wi bathe!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

2.7m

the 2011 census out yet?

Go find it nuh?

Isnt that our population number ? if not I stand corrected but Like I said if even a third of that ....wi bathe!
                ... but X ... you charging that $50.00 based on every man, woman and pickney being in the industry. Is that fair?

Lazie again this is the third time , I said even if we get a third of that , we bathe.

Annually.

Use the workforce number 1.3m and if you add in retirees and enterprising teens, you get closer to the voter enumeration total of 1.6m.

That is a better starting base.

Legalise a herb for medicinal use
                      So doctors will prescribe?

Please explain this formulation...I don't understand.. some queries

1. What are the 3m/2.7m/1.6m people purchasing for $50/year...weed to address a medical issue? Unless they all have glaucoma I don't see where that level of demand will be

2. Why would masses of people purchase something for regular use (assuming they even like the product) when ANYONE would be able to get some seeds and grow it in their yard upon legalization? That fact alone will depress commercial sales...and prices.
                      Weed would become more like thyme...given away in the market with a purchase

b)Revenue from tax.

1a) Local
                      2b) Forgein

See the points above...I don't think these projections are viable

Not mocking it..but our economic and political environment doesn't support the case for weed being a saviour...or even a substantial player

Jamaica cannot produce wealth (except for a few big traders) by reselling a product on the local market...that's just recirculating the limited funds within the country

So Jamaica needs to access other people's income... i.e. export its products or services to create wealth...which is why traffickers try to export weed.... and small timers juggle wid it locally and might ongly eke out a living

Unfortunately an export led strategy for weed will not be successful... Babylon will not support that

We need other solutions I suggest.

Respek
                      Last edited by Don1; January 11, 2012, 03:06 PM.

not knocking your suggestion... however, i think manufacturing across the island would be more viable...

people first have to be trained in the technologies of modern manufacturing

otherwise we won't be able to compete

What are the 3m/2.7m/1.6m people purchasing for $50/year...weed to address a medical issue? Unless they all have glaucoma I don't see where that level of demand will be

Well Bobby Brown say him use it fe him bipolar disorder....when him did feel like drop two kick pon Whitney him just smoke a spliff and dat calm him down.

So who knows, maybe legalizing the herb will help to reduce domestic violence as well

And before that people need a solid secondary education so that they are trainable in the first place.

Interestingly though I was listening to a podcast the other day about the manufacturing plants in China...you would be surprised how many of those electonic gadgets are assembled by old-fashioned manual labor. But them can do that because them have the an almost unlimited supply of workers and can work dem fe 120 hours a week and pay them slave wages with no bathroom breaks. Robotics still nuh reach dem level of efficiency yet, LOL.

After me finish listen the program me feel bad fe use me iPhone, nah tell no lie.